that crazy cancer girl

My journey through cervical cancer

You is kind, you is smart, you is important… Or rare!!

on October 1, 2013

Having my legs in stir ups covered with toe socks is not my idea of a great morning. However after shaking hands and introducing himself, this Dr. works quick! 😉

Room full of nurses, 1 Dr. and a note taker and I’m the only one feeling awkward. They see this stuff everyday so I hate to put it in these words but my lower region is just “another face” to them.

Many pokes, and cuts and gauze and tears later the Dr. said he would be back after I changed. My dear husband who means well said, “Honey I know it’s not the best time, but this is your time”… I would have preferred maybe a pedicure or a trip to Target for my time. I love that man!!

A short while later the Dr. came back in and told me it is stage 3 cervical cancer. It is treatable and possibly curable. I will not be getting a hysterectomy. He said most cervical cancers grow down. I am a rare case and mine grows up. I knew I was special! 😉 In cases like mine a hysterectomy could likely kill me so they axed that idea. No white panty club for me! :/

Before they can start treatment I have to have a surgery to get a hole drilled in my back and a tube placed in to connect to a bag to hold my pee because of the crushed ureter. Not exactly the accessory that any woman wants to carry around! I might make a special purse for it. 😉 I also may smell like a nursing home for a while. Please let me know if I do so I can use extra lotion that day!

After that surgery I will be starting radiation 5 days a week for 7-8 weeks and chemo once a week for 7-8 weeks. After that is finished then we will have a few really heavy doses of radiation directly to the cervix. He told me that some women lose hair and some don’t. I don’t think he realizes how much I pay for this hair!! 😉 If it falls out then maybe God will let it grow back straight and not the Shirley Temple fro I sport on regular basis!

I know I joke a lot, but if I can’t laugh then I won’t make it. In all seriousness, this could have been avoided… I can’t tell you all how much you need to keep up with regular check ups. Pap smears, mammograms, men get the lemons squeezed! Whatever it takes to not have to go through this Hell I am going through right now, you need to do it! It’s not the most pleasant thing in the world, but it has to be done. I have a long and hard fight ahead and it all could have been avoided.

I know it’s pink ribbon month, but don’t forget to sport a little teal ribbon here and there! A girlfriend of mine who is a runner and a huge advocate for any type of cancer is running in a 8K marathon on Oct. 20th called Run Like a Girl. You can check it out at www.runlikeagirl8k.com  Any of you that like to run and enter races who might want to run in my honor or any woman’s honor you need to check it out! It’s a great cause!

I’m babbling today, but I am trying to get rid of diarrhea of the brain. I can’t thank you all enough for all the prayers, the food, the flowers. Blessings beyond blessings! I love you all and keep praying! God has his hand all over this!

Deut 23:5 I turned the curse into a blessing unto you because I love you

5 responses to “You is kind, you is smart, you is important… Or rare!!

  1. vbbrowns@cox.net says:

    Sarah, you are so amazing to share your thoughts and experiences with us. Will keep praying. xoxo

  2. Cheryl Palomino says:

    Thank you for babbling! Thank you for all the gross details. Thank you for allowing us into your emotions, thoughts and life. You are an amazing woman and we are on bended knee for you and the family. We are also praying for all the medical professionals you will be working with. May God guide them to all the right diagnosis, treatments, procedures and medications. We pray that God strengthens your body to handle the barrage it is about to bear. That D has the mental, emotional and physical ability to support you and the kids through this time, and when he needs a break – that he has the courage to ask for help. Also, for the kids to learn how great our God is through this experience. Lord, please have all those helpful and supportive friends and family members in the perfect places to be most effective for them. We ask for a miraculous healing in Sarah. You’re will is perfect and so is your timing. In Jesus name, amen.

  3. Freida says:

    Women’s Devotional Bible – Friday, October 4, 2013
    At Issue – Fear

    Haggai 2:5

    When you feel afraid, telling yourself there’s nothing to be afraid of doesn’t often work. Trying to control or manipulate the situation doesn’t often work. Worrying through every possible scenario doesn’t work either. So, how can you combat fear? When God tells us not to be afraid, he reminds us that he’s with us. We have nothing to fear because God is with us. He’s more powerful than our circumstances or enemies. During the most stressful situation, he’s still on his throne. And his love and comfort are more abundant than our pain or anxiety. So don’t be afraid—God is near.
    From http://www.biblegateway.com/devotionals/womens-devotional-bible/

Leave a Reply

