that crazy cancer girl

My journey through cervical cancer

Friends + Family = LOVE

on October 9, 2013

The cursor keeps blinking at me as my mind tries to unscramble everything in my head. I keep writing something and then pushing the backspace button because it’s not exactly what I wanted to say. I’ve always loved to write, but some days are much harder then others. Maybe it has something to do with lack of sleep…

Nights have been hard between the pain and not being able to sleep on my right side. The other night was so bad I woke up and my nose stud was gone. We have tore our bed apart looking for it, but it’s gone. I have no memory of taking it out. Weirdest thing ever!

I met with the oncologist yesterday to go over the results of my pathology report. I asked him what the outcome was with stage 3. He says it’s a good outcome… 60% of woman make it. He also said that 40% of woman have recurring cancer. I wanted to be afraid and think of all the terrible outcomes, but I felt peace. I know that God is in control of all of this. I can not allow myself to fold under statistics. He gave me a new painkiller that knocked my socks off. Hopefully I won’t have to take that too often! I meet with the radiation Dr. tomorrow morning to get a schedule lined up and then next week I will have a picc line placed in my arm to get the chemo started.

I’m looking forward to getting all of this started! Probably not what you would hear the average person say, but the sooner we can get this started, the sooner we can get through all of this! (And get rid of this gosh darn pee bag) I’m over that one all ready!! 😉

I do have to write a little about my inlaws today. They live in Iowa and when the heard the news they packed bags and drove here a little over a week ago. My MIL has cooked, cleaned, done laundry and everything in between! My FIL has taken the kids back and forth from bus stops and fixed little things around the house. Together they have been a tremendous help that otherwise I believe my house would have suffered the past week and a half. It has been wonderful having them here and I can honestly say I don’t think I could ever repay them enough for all they have done. It has taken loads of stress of D and I knowing that the kids have been well taken care of under their own roof rather then being taken from friends house to friends house.

The inlaws will travel back to Iowa tomorrow to winterize their house and then head back to help us through the treatments and everything else until this journey is done. I am truly blessed!!!

I also have to add that last Saturday as I was standing at the kitchen sink the door opened and my 2 nephews and sister surprised me coming from WV! Boy was I surprised to tears! We had such a wonderful 2 day visit and it lifted my spirits so much to have them here! These are the things that will carry me through these next couple of months. I can’t allow the negative people to be around me. And yes there have already been a few! I need to surround myself with those who love me and want healing for me. Those that will hold my hand and pray with me. Those who will call just to say I’m thinking of you or those that bring me a pumpkin spice latte just to say I want you to relax. (decaf, 2 pumps 😉 )

I have truly been blessed with so many friends and family that are supporting me through this. God has a plan for my life and knowing I have so many people who love me enough to walk this plan out with me is truly amazing and leaves me truly satisfied with the circumstances I am in.

I know this is all over the place today, but I had so many thoughts to share that I couldn’t focus on just one. I pray you are all having a wonderful week and make sure you let a friend or family member know how much you truly love and appreciate them today! A phone call goes a long way!

 

Jeremiah 29:11  For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future

One response to “Friends + Family = LOVE

  1. April says:

    I am so glad that you have your in-laws helping you. What an amazing blessing! I am rooting for you. If you need anything or would like a Starbucks delivered let me know.

Leave a Reply

