that crazy cancer girl

My journey through cervical cancer

Mrs. Tube-a-lot

on October 12, 2013

It may be the funniest name I have ever been called. According to my daughter it is now Mrs. Tube-a-lot! I guess I can’t be offended as it describes me quite accurately.

Yesterday I went to the hospital to have my picc line put in. It literally took 3 minutes from start to finish. I was impressed! It felt great and other than the awesome fishnet I was sporting on my arm, I didn’t have any trouble… That was until I got home and went to lay on my left side. WOW! My heart started beating out of my chest! Another name for that annoying fluttering is heart palpitations. As soon as I laid on my back they went away. I tried to call my Dr. to see if that was normal in any way, shape or form, but they told me to call the hospital. After talking to about 20 people they told me the surgery center was closed till Monday and I would have to wait till then.

Needless to say I now cannot lay on my left side because my heart palpitates and I can’t lay on my right side because of the tube in my kidney. It is not even funny you all! I am not a back sleeper!! Someone somewhere is laughing over this! Between sleeping and showers this has gotten quite adventurous!

I finally had my first real breakdown last night. I have tried to be so brave through all of this and try not to think of the big picture. Last night I thought of the big picture and I looked at everything hanging out of me and I cried, I sobbed to the point where I could barely breath. My sweet husband just help me and rubbed my back until I could cry no more. It may have been a moment of weakness in some peoples eyes, but to me it was exactly what I needed. It was the most cleansing cry I have had in years! After that my 3 awesome kiddos came in to try and make me laugh. We had a wonderful time together. My littlest man who is 8 wanted to pray for me. He started such a beautiful prayer and then the sweet little thing started crying and the tears started all over again.

It was what we all needed. We just needed to get our thoughts and feelings out in the open and talk about how we truly felt about everything that has been going on. I can’t thank God enough for the beautiful family I have been blessed with. I couldn’t imagine going through all of this alone!

It has been a rough week with loads of test and other things thrown at me when not much of it was scheduled. I suppose this is the new normal. It’s all going to be ok though. As my sweet daughter said last night, “Mommy, I think God has a good plan in all of this” 😉 I just love those kiddos!!

Just wanted to give you all a quick update and I am still loving all the prayers and blessings that many of you all have been bringing over! Yummy food, beautiful flowers, treats and snacks, and beautiful cards! I am beyond humbled!

This Mrs. Tube-a-lot is truly happy 😉

 

James 5:13  

Is any one of you in trouble? He should pray. Is anyone happy? Let him sing songs of praise.

 

 

One response to “Mrs. Tube-a-lot

  1. Freida says:

    I love you Sarah Unterbrink, and your family. Hugs & Prayers.

Leave a Reply

