that crazy cancer girl

My journey through cervical cancer

So Let the Sunshine In, Face it with a Grin!!!

on October 16, 2013

Remember that tune? Every time we were having a bum day, my sweet Mama would sing that song to us.

Today I am singing that song to myself for 2 reasons. One we officially have sun! After 10 blessed days of rain, the sun has peeked through. We still have clouds, but the sun is forcing it’s way through and bringing some much needed vitamin D!! I’m not sure about the rest of you, but I am solar powered. The grayer and rainier it is the slower and more moody I get! Thank you Jesus for the sun!!! He knew I needed it!

The second reason I am singing that song is because I have had a couple of rough days. I remember I was about 13 years old and I had an argument with one of my best guy buddies. I came downstairs and my Mama was doing her daily waltz through the kitchen making homemade goodness and I just stood on the landing at the bottom of the steps and watched her almost willing her to see me because I needed encouragement from her. She finally turned around and walked over to me and asked me what was wrong. I told her and she took both of her hands and put them on my face and pulled my mouth into a smile and started singing,

Mommy told me something a little girl should know
It’s all about the Devil and I’ve learned to hate him so
She says he causes trouble when you let him in the room
He will never ever leave you if your heart is filled with gloom

So, let the sun shine in, face it with a grin
Smilers never lose and frowners never win
So, let the sun shine in, face it with a grin
Open up your heart and let the sun shine in

I smiled at her and she said “there is my Sarie Sue Sunshine” which was the name she labeled me with often. I wish that dear woman was still here. I know she would be holding my hand and praying with me and all I am going through. However she is not, so I have to live with her memories to get me through the dark days.

Today I am feeling a little better and I am singing that song over and over in my head thinking of my Mama’s beautiful voice singing it to me. I know that I will have dark days to come, but if I can remember that God will let that sunshine in, then I think I can do this. Scratch that, I KNOW I can do this.

Whatever dark days you are facing right now whether it’s physically, mentally, financially, relationships. Whatever it is, just remember to let the sunshine in! We are all going to face dark days, but you don’t have to stay there!

Genesis 21:6            

Sarah said, “God has made laughter for me; everyone who hears will laugh with me.”

 

Leave a Reply

