that crazy cancer girl

My journey through cervical cancer

How are your Training Wheels?

on October 18, 2013

I’m not 3 and I have been riding a big girl bike for, well a very long time. However I have training wheels… No not the kind of training wheels that squeak and make your bike go back and forth. I have the kind that God is training me on.

I guess every time any of us face something new whether it would be exciting like a new job or a new baby or something scary like cancer or learning to live without someone since they passed. Any of these you would be wearing new training wheels. You can’t just jump into situations like this and start riding around with your hands in the air feeling the wind in your face and hair blowing about. Situations that are new are shaky and uneven and throw you off balance. Your afraid of falling and scraping yourself up. Your afraid of not being able to keep up with those more experienced riders that are zipping all around you in circles.

Cancer is my new set of training wheels. This is all new to me. I have the fear of not being able to make it, I have the fear of failing or falling along the way. I remember loads of tears when I was learning how to ride a bike and how my Daddy with those big strong hands of his would pick me up and wipes the tears and gently tell me try it again Murphy. (My given nickname from my Dad)

Isn’t God exactly the same? Through all this fear and tears He will come along and pick me up and wipe my tears and gently remind me to try again. He tells me that I’m not doing this alone. I have hundreds of people praying for me. I have the blessings of friends and family that are riding right beside me helping me over the bumps and potholes in this road. We are never alone! God is always there right beside us through any situation. It’s up to you whether or not you want to call on Him for help.

So many people are hurting today, so many of us are riding around on our uneven, noisy training wheels. How many times will you stop today and help someone who just fell or encourage someone who is ready to give up trying by telling them, just a little bit further. You can do this! Make sure that you don’t pass up that opportunity today.

I have had so much encouragement over the past 3 weeks that My training wheels seem to be a little smoother today. The ride still looks scary, but I know that I have so many of you standing on the side of the road cheering me on and I have to tell you, I’m starting to feel the wind in my face and I’m not white knuckling the handle bars as much. I might even be starting to smile a little more. All of this because encouragement is what builds bravery in someone else!

 

Deuteronomy 31:6

Be strong and courageous. Do not fear  or be in dread of them, for it is the LORD your God who goes with you. He will  not leave you or forsake you.”

 

One response to “How are your Training Wheels?

  1. dpu904 says:

    Gods number one command to us through out the bible is DO NOT FEAR. There are 10s of thousands praying not just for your healing but that Gods will be done through all of this. Love you

Leave a Reply

