that crazy cancer girl

My journey through cervical cancer

What’s your Season?

on November 7, 2013

298849_2059492803013_5053359_n

 

 

Anyone who truly knows me, knows that summer is my “alive” time. I  am more excited than the kids when school finally lets out. The late nights, the sleep in mornings, no homework and endless days at the beach listening to the waves, hearing my babies running around and laughing, surf fishing in the evenings and breath taking sunsets over the water. It’s a season that has never failed to provide me with memories upon memories. I just feel so alive in the summer. It seems that life is at it’s fullest in the summer. The colors are vibrant from flowers to clothing and the trees are at there full potential and everyone just seems happier to me.

I know so many that can’t wait for fall simply because of the color of leaves, sweaters and pumpkin everything! However to me it’s always been a sad time. Fall and winter indicate to me that life is ending. Not in the extreme you might think I’m saying, but the trees are losing there leaves, flowers are dying off, grass is turning brown. It’s getting colder and it’s dark before 5pm… I’m going to have to stop or I might need a nerve pill! 😉

I think just like the seasons of nature, we experience seasons of life. My season right now has me feeling as void of color as winter. It’s a season that I always thought would never happen to me. I thought maybe it would skip me and go to someone else. God certainly wouldn’t give me that kind of season because He of course knows I wouldn’t be able to handle it… Here I am in that season.

I think about the next holiday coming up, you know that one hidden between Halloween and Christmas that is far to often forgotten about. Thanksgiving! It’s a time to be thankful. Even in my situation I have SO much to be thankful for. Not just on Thanksgiving, but everyday. It’s what I think about when I am in pain or going through treatment or when Debbie downer puts Susie sunshine in a chokehold. I thank God for things to get my mind back on the right track. I thank Him for family and friends and health. Yes health. I’m still 6 feet above ground so I have to be thankful for that!

I can’t let the season I am in steal the joys that are waiting for me. I can’t dwell on the past and I can’t think of the future. I have to enjoy the season I am in right now. I believe God is stretching me and wanting me to grow through this. Just like a kid being challenged in school though, it’s not always fun and just like the old hymn we sometimes want to sing, “I shall not be moved”! It’s tough to break out of my comfort zone. Through every trial and every situation, God is preparing me for His work.

What is your season in life like? Are you being pushed out of your comfort zone? Are you experiencing joys or trials? Just remember there is still beauty in falling leaves and still a brightness that falls with snow. We have to look for the joy in any season!

 

Ecclesiastes 3:1-4

For everything there is a season, a time for every activity under heaven.
A time to be born and a time to die. A time to plant and a time to harvest.
A time to kill and a time to heal. A time to tear down and a time to build up.
A time to cry and a time to laugh. A time to grieve and a time to dance.

Leave a Reply

