that crazy cancer girl

My journey through cervical cancer

I am Thankful

on November 28, 2013

It’s been a few days since I have last blogged. I have been doing loads of stuff to prepare for tomorrow! All of my family is coming down to spend Thanksgiving together and I couldn’t be happier!! So it’s not that I haven’t wanted to write, I have just been busy preparing our little home for everyone!

This week has been very busy! Monday I completed my last chemo and I am so grateful that although thin, I still have my hair. I have met so many wonderful people and some of the best nurses you could imagine sitting in those recliners every week. They make you completely forget that you have poison being pumped into your body. Today I completed my last external radiation. My boys and hubby got to come in and see where I have been treated and then got to ring the bell with me when I was done. It really made me happy to have them with me. I wish my girly was there too, but she had to finish up some stuff in school before the holiday break.

The question now is where do I go from here? I would love to tell you I have some grand plan laid out, but I’m not sure where I will go from here. Next Monday I meet with the radiation Dr. to see what other options I have other then the brachytherapy they want me to do. Next Tuesday I have a nephrostagram scheduled to see if this tube can come out. I am supposed to hear from the hospital scheduler on Friday to see when I will get a MRI to see how much the tumor has shrunk after all the chemo and radiation. I keep praying that maybe God has heard my prayers and hundreds of others and has healed me completely. If He hasn’t though I will still continue to praise Him through this storm.

Today has been rough pain wise and I have no one to blame but myself. This morning I snagged my tube on the footboard of our bed and gave it a good tug. Then yesterday and today I had some soda which I haven’t had in ages and my right kidney is a very angry kidney tonight. To the point where I question whether I should go to the hospital or not. The pain is very intense! However I have waited so long for tomorrow with family that I will wait out the pain till Thanksgiving is over. Some may think that is stupid, but I refuse to spend another holiday in the hospital away from family. Needless to say I am downing water like it is going out of style and no more soda for this girl!! I am also praying that this tube is ready to come out so I can stop snagging it on everything! I so want to enjoy tomorrow with my family preferably pain free, so if any of you could throw out a extra prayer for me tonight then I would appreciate it so very much!

Today is 2 months since I found out about my cancer… I have to be honest, in that moment of hearing those words, I thought ahead and wondered if I would see Thanksgiving, if I would see Christmas or if I would even see another birthday. Tomorrow I will be ever so thankful to God for allowing me another Thanksgiving. We aren’t promised tomorrow. I could have cancer and be killed in a car accident or have a heart attack. We never know when we will take our last breath. I know though that when I do I will be in Heaven and will not be in pain anymore. Should God allow me to wake up tomorrow I will have so much to be thankful for.

I pray that wherever you are tomorrow and whoever you are with that you take the time to enjoy your time together. Put the phones away and be with the ones in front of you. Take time to be thankful for the little things all the way to the big things. I know that I will be blessed to be surrounded by my Dad, brother, sisters, brother in law and sister n law, nieces and nephews and my hubby and kiddos. Happy Thanksgiving to all of you and your families!

Psalm 95:1-6
“O come, let us sing unto the LORD: let us make a joyful noise to the rock of our salvation. Let us come before his presence with thanksgiving, and make a joyful noise unto him with psalms. For the LORD is a great God, and a great King above all gods. In his hand are the deep places of the earth: the strength of the hills is his also. The sea is his, and he made it: and his hands formed the dry land. O come, let us worship and bow down: let us kneel before the LORD our maker.”

 

Leave a Reply

