that crazy cancer girl

My journey through cervical cancer

Merry Christmas!!

on December 24, 2013

Gift Boxes and Ball

Do you remember playing hide and go seek as a kid and as you are hiding you have that overwhelming feeling that you are going to pee your pants? Yeah, that’s me right now. 😉 I am so excited for Christmas! Maybe not the way you think I am though. You see I LOVE to give gifts. I seriously get so happy seeing the look on other peoples faces when they open gifts. I have always been the type to want to surprise others with something when they are least expecting it. Christmas is no exception. I can’t tell you the amount of times I have ask my dear hubby if he wants to open just one gift before Christmas. Seriously the man has the same amount of patience as God! He always wants to wait!

Are you ready? What makes you most excited, giving or receiving? Of course it’s always nice to get a gift, but nothing like the pure joy of watching someone else open a gift from me.

What about the gift of Jesus? Can you imagine the anticipation that Mary and Joseph felt that night? I remember waiting to give birth to all 3 of our kiddos and sometimes the anticipation was more than I could bear. I wondered who they would look like, would they be healthy, what would they be when they grew up? So many questions that I had in my head. However I can’t imagine the questions in Mary’s head that night. She knew she was giving birth to the son of God. Wow, no pressure huh? Do you think she knew that He would die for our sins?

I couldn’t imagine giving one of our son’s life to save the lives of others. But God did and He called Jesus our gift. Our gift of forgiveness, our gift of love, our gift of peace. He came to earth for us. I believe the world has strayed so far from the real meaning of why we celebrate Christmas. We only have Christmas because of Jesus. It’s not about the gifts or parties or ugly Christmas sweaters. It’s His birth in a stable on a cold winter’s night.

Tomorrow we will go to the Christmas eve service at our church in anticipation to celebrate His birth. Wednesday morning we will wake up and read the bible story around the Christmas tree like we do every year to remind ourselves that it’s about Him. Then we will enjoy the day with family. What are you looking forward to this Christmas? Whatever it is I hope you have a wonderful Merry Christmas with your family or friends or however you are celebrating this year. Don’t forget what Christmas is truly about. Merry Christmas!!

Leave a Reply

