that crazy cancer girl

My journey through cervical cancer

Blessings of a New Year

on December 30, 2013

blog 2014

 

I thought I had signed off for the year, but my brain is full and needs to be emptied. 😉 Someone told me I should write about my year… Even our pastor this morning challenged us to think back to the blessings we had through this past year.

I will be honest I really do not like to write about the end of the year and reflecting over a year because it makes me think that somehow I have to detach myself from something or someone. Kind of like the end of an era and in a way I guess it is with another year being gone. However I am keeping this on the happy side of things today. 😉

First of all I am going to remember my year with you. Yes you. I am going to get all “Jerry Maguire” on you when I can honestly say You complete me. My parents have always said through out the years that God puts people in your path for a reason. Whether it’s to teach you a lesson, to make you a better person, to help you with something or to completely change your life. I may not have understood that back then, but I completely comprehend and believe every word of that now.

I have met some new friends this year and have been so blessed that they were put in my path. They have made my life happier and more complete. New fishing friends, church friends, my closer relationship with my brother and sisters and friends that I chat with on Facebook and have only met once or twice or not at all. I think about you often and am so glad we are together. I look forward to what our friendship will become in 2014. My friends that have been with me for all these years have grown closer with me and I love our time together. I love to laugh with you and make so many memories together!!

I have also been faced with so many challenges this year and many times have looked up to the sky and made that statement that this is all can handle, please no more. However for all the bad there was there was just as much good!

2014 for me is a new year. I have to make a change in myself before I can make a change in my marriage, in my family, in my friends and in my world. I can only hope and pray that I can make that change.

I have never been one for New Years resolutions. I feel why set myself up for failure? Yeah it might be a pessimistic way of looking at things, but it’s what I have come to realize for myself. I however do know that I need to become a better mother, a better wife, a healthier person, a better friend and a better person overall. Are these New Years resolutions? No there not, but ideas for what I know I need to do.

However if I had to make a true resolution, then it would be to fight with everything in me to make it through this awful disease called cancer. Whether I need to become a lab rat or go back on chemo and radiation if this surgery doesn’t work… Whatever it takes to be with my family, I am willing to do!!

If you do make resolutions and it is truly a resolution, resolute, resolved, then RESOLVE to begin now. There is nothing keeping you back, right? In reality, if there is something you mean to begin or quit or change then waiting until tommorow is just plain dumb. Start with your resolution today, right now. No one is going to hold you to your resolutions, (although they say its best to keep you accountable). You need to be your own advocator. I am also preaching to myself. 😉

Today I am looking back over the past 12 months and evaluating what I have and haven’t done, what I should change and what I shouldn’t. It puts things into perspective for me.

I pray that 2014 will be life changing for you. Whether you plan to get married, have kids, move in your town or to another state. Whether you get a job, lose a job, lose a loved one. Know that all of it has a plan for your life and you are not alone. Whatever happens for you in 2014 I pray you find peace.

Happy New Year!!

Leave a Reply

