that crazy cancer girl

My journey through cervical cancer

Are You Content?

on January 8, 2014

One day the Lord spoke to Jonah son of Amittia, He said “go to Nineveh, that great city and speak out against it’s people!

Jonah, however set out in the opposite direction in order to get away from the LORD!!

 

Remember this story? I remember it best told by my Sunday school teachers through the use of felt characters on the felt board. Somehow those felt boards brought everything to life for me. Lately I have been kind of feeling like Jonah. Not that I have been trying to get away from the Lord, but that I think He wants me to say or type certain things on here and I am fighting him. I’m thinking who am I to say anything and why can’t you speak to people about this, why are you using my platform to say this stuff? Yeah God and I we kind of chit chat like this. Of course it looks more like I am talking to myself a lot to others around me. 😉

Tonight I have my headphones on blocking out all outside distractions and I am hoping He will give me the right words to write on here tonight as I can no longer tell God no. This journey that I am on has definitely brought me into a closer relationship with God. Anyone can call themselves a Christian, but if you have no backing and you don’t work on it daily then it’s just a word. Kind of like someone who picks up a bat one time and hits a ball and calls himself a baseball player. Without practice he is just a guy that hit a ball one time.

This week being in my bed I have had a lot of time to think and focus on things in my life that I need to work on. I guess it’s not till we are forced to slow down does God have a whole lot to say to you. The question kept coming up of are you content? What do you mean God? Of course I’m content, I have a great husband, awesome kids what else would I want? Over and over again it kept coming, Are you content? Then I realized what He was talking about…

When I listen to praise and worship music I listen to the instruments, I listen to the singers, if I am watching on YouTube I watch the singers raising hands and praising God. They are not caring who is around them, they are worshipping God to there fullest! Am I content in my worship? No I don’t think I am. I LOVE to sing with everything in me and when we go to church every Sunday it’s my favorite part of the service is singing to God. I close my eyes and sometimes lift my hands and I sing to God. It says in the bible that when we get to Heaven we will be worshipping and praising God all the time. When I close my eyes I picture God sitting on His throne and I am singing to Him. I have heard that I sing good, but it’s not for show for anyone else. It’s just Me and God singing.

My first question to you is are you content in your worship? When the music is playing do you stand there and not sing at all? Do you clap your hands or raise your hands? Are you singing to God or maybe you don’t care either way about the music. Maybe you are singing for show because you know you have a good voice and you want everyone to hear it. God is the only one that really wants to hear it. When you get to Heaven will you just stand and not do anything because that’s how you worshipped in church? Are you content with that?

Are you content with your daily life? You get up, take care of the kids, go off to work, come home and sit on the couch and then go to bed and do it all again everyday? Do you feel like you are a gerbil running around and around on the same wheel and you know you can get off, but maybe you don’t know how. Maybe you used to go to church and you felt something. That tug on your heart to do a little more, to worship a little more, but you were scared and felt to much commitment and you stopped going? I hear so many say “Well Sunday is the only day I can sleep in, or the only family day we have, even it’s the only day when I can clean. However you sleep in or hang out in bed till 11 when most churches are over. So you could have gone to church and started your week off right, but you chose to stay home. Are you content with that?

I was raised in the church and we were there every blessed time those doors were open and I will be honest by the time I was a teenager that got old real quick! I left the church, I took my time doing things that I knew I never should have done, but God brought me back and I feel like a part of me is missing if I don’t get to church. We have so many struggles that face us each day that getting that spiritual food is something I need to start my week with. I understand so many of you were not raised in the church so it’s hard to get that going into a regular thing. It should never become a habit though. Church should be a place that you want to go, a place where you want to feel closer to God. It should never be a place that you go to every Sunday because it’s what you have done since you were a child. God does not want to be a habit.

This is a fresh new year. Gyms are packed right now with people wanting to get a fresh start on there health. What about your spiritual health? How about this new year getting a fresh start on that? It’s never to late. God will accept you anytime. However you never know when you will breathe your last breath. It was on the news last night that a police chase was happening about 5 minutes from us and the car that was being chased crossed the middle and hit a minivan and instantly killed the driver who was a father to 2, a husband, a grandfather who was just on his way home. The 3 that were being chased walked away from the crash. Do you think that innocent man knew that he wouldn’t make it home that night? You never know when you will take your last breath. It could be tomorrow, next week or years from now. Would you be content in where you would go?

Does your friends and neighbors know you go to church? When you are cussing and drinking with them do they see that you are a Christian? Are you content with that?

A lot of you will breeze through this and say yeah I’m fine, but I hope this speaks to at least one of you. You should never be content in anything in life. You should always strive for so much more. Better family life, better performance at work, better in school and most of all better in your relationship with God. Are you content?

Deauteronomy 6:5  You shall love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your might

Leave a Reply

