that crazy cancer girl

My journey through cervical cancer

I’m a Liar….

on January 20, 2014

d36a8842ef6030800b0487451a48fac3

I got your attention, huh? Well I have to admit, I have been lying non stop for quite some time and I believe it’s time to come clean…

How many times has someone ask you, “How are you?” What is the standard answer? “I’m fine”.

Every day I either have someone text me or call me and every Sunday when I go to church I have been asked a hundred times, How are you Sarah? Well I have been lying. I give the standard answer of I’m fine. I’m sorry for lying, but I honestly think no one wants to sit and really listen about how I really feel. Guess what, I’m not fine! Some days every blessed part of my body hurts, other days it might just be a bit of depression from all this and other days it might have taken everything I have to just get out of bed. I can assure you I have not been “fine” in a very. long. time!

I do the same thing though. I ask people how they are doing and some of these people look like they are truly hurting or they are going through a very rough time. Whether it’s someone I know or the checkout person at the market. When I hear “just fine” I feel like it’s a missed opportunity to truly help someone. It’s an instant ending to a conversation.

How many times do we box ourselves in with an cookie cutter answer instead of helping someone else or giving someone the opportunity to help us. I think that is part of the trouble in today’s society. We don’t open ourselves to each other anymore and we live in our “just fine” worlds of loneliness and doubt. What will it take for us to realize that we need to feel that release of the hurt and anger that we hold in just because we don’t think someone cares enough to truly listen.

I am at fault on both ends of this. I throw that just fine line around more then I should and I also don’t take the time to stop and listen to the person that might need to talk.

I’m not sure when I will feel “fine” again, it could be months or years. I pray though that God will soften my heart to listen and help the person who is hurting and needs someone to listen to their story. Because not to many people are just fine these days. It’s ok to be un-fine. We are all hurting in some way. Next time someone ask you, “How are you doing”, make sure you take that opportunity to open yourself to someone. If they are truly a friend they will take the time to listen. It’s time to be brave!

James 1:19   Know this, my beloved brothers: let every person be quick to hear, slow to speak, slow to anger

2 responses to “I’m a Liar….

  1. NINA WILSON says:

    Sarah..you have many friends who love you, I’m one of them…I know you are not fine but in the typical Sarah way you try to protect us, you don’t want your friends to hurt so you say “I’m Fine”
    if you need to talk call me…I will listen…

  2. Sharon Albright says:

    Sarah I love you and your family .God has used you today, for today is not one of my “fine” days. Thank you for sharing your thoughts and allowing me to know that God gives His chosen ones the words to speak to help those in need.

Leave a Reply

