that crazy cancer girl

My journey through cervical cancer

Thankful

on January 25, 2014

thankful

 

How do you thank someone that has given so much of themselves for you?

September 27th sitting on the bed at the ER, we had just received the news that I had advanced stage cancer. We cried.. a lot and didn’t know who to call or what to do. We were in shock and scared. We called our family on both sides and they cried with us. When we called Darin’s parents they cried and said we are on our way. They live in Iowa and I knew that would be such a long drive for them, but they insisted and within a few days they were here with us.

Those first few weeks were a blur of Dr.s, surgeries, appointments and so much more. Instantly they stepped in, taking care of the kids, picking them up from the bus stop and dropping them off at school, doing the dishes, cooking meals, praying for me and crying with me. They stayed for 2 weeks and then made the decision to go back home and winterize there home and come back to spend the winter with us. Everything fell into place as a dear friend of ours found a home for them to stay in that was only 2 minutes away from our home. They started attending our church with us and I can’t lie for the first time in our married life we had family living near us and it felt great!

When I was little some of my greatest memories were spending the night with my Grandma. I always wished our kids had that experience and for the past 3 months they were able to do that. They had sleepovers with Grandma and Grandpa and they played games with them and took them to the movies or out to dinner. I know it’s memories our kids will never forget.

Through all the hospital stays I never worried once about the kids because I knew they were the best of care with their grandparents. These past couple of months was exactly what I needed. The past 15 years have only been small visits here and there and not much of a chance to get to know each other. These past few months have been wonderful because I have built a relationship with my in-laws that I honestly don’t think I would have ever had the chance to have if it had not been for me having cancer. Finally getting to know them and build that relationship has been amazing in so many ways. Not only for me, but for the kids to really get to know and spend time with them.

Tonight was the last night that we got to spend with them as tomorrow they will be on the road back to Iowa. We cried with each other and prayed for safe travels for them and then they were gone. I can’t tell you the amount of times I wished my sweet Mother had been alive to be here with me and hold me through those tough days. However Kathi was here and she held me, prayed with me and let me cry on her. God knew exactly what I needed and she was here to help.

I wish I had a million dollars to thank them and try to pay them back for all they sacrificed this winter to help us, but I don’t and other then a million thank you’s I don’t know what else to say or do.

I hate cancer and what it has done to me, but it has also brought me closer to God, a better relationship with my brother and sisters and a wonderful relationship with my in-laws. If I have to go through pain in order for those things to have happened then I will honestly tell you it was worth it. My heart is happy and so many things have been put to peace in my soul. Only God knows how to take the bad and turn it into good.

Tonight as some tears still fall knowing that we might not see them for a while, I want to publicly thank Paul and Kathi for everything that you have done for us this winter. Your love and prayers have changed us for the better! I pray for a safe trip back home and that it isn’t to long before we can be together again, hopefully in celebration of healing! I love you both!

 

Ephesians 1:16   I have not stopped giving thanks for you,
remembering you in my prayers.

 

One response to “Thankful

  1. Sharon Albright says:

    God shows His love in many ways.

Leave a Reply

