that crazy cancer girl

My journey through cervical cancer

Just a little diarrhea of the Mouth

on February 5, 2014

th70NWMV03

 

 

Tonight I have no life lessons or cute story. Tonight I just need to open myself up and let it go.

Yesterday morning I woke up about 6:30 and had to use the restroom. I sat down and felt this weird sensation and then a thump on the floor. I looked down beside me and my eyes flew open as I saw not only my bag, but the entire tube that was supposed to be in my kidney had come through the tape on my back and was laying there on the floor beside me. I ran out in the bedroom and woke Darin up and said ummm I think we need to go to the hospital now!! He jumped out of bed and I called my Dr and the on call Dr called me back and I’m not lying, acted like it was no big deal. Back up to when I had this thing put in in early October when the Dr. in the lab told me if it ever comes out it is not a life or death situation. However we have only a few hour window to get it back into the same tract so you don’t have to go through the pain of a new one.

The on call Dr. told me to wait until the office opened and call them to see what they wanted me to do. Of course my urologist was out for the day and the nurse had no clue what to do. After about 2 hours they finally told me I needed to go to the ER in order to get to the lab. I have been to this particular lab 3 different times and have gotten to know the people who work in there quite well. THEY ARE AMAZING PEOPLE!!! I can’t say enough about the ones who work in the angio lab at Virginia Beach General. They have been so sweet to me. When they wheeled me in they all came over and we chatted with each other about what’s been going on. When they called my Dr. to see what he wanted them to do he told them all these things that were not even on my record!! He was talking about someone else! Lets just say if they would have followed his instructions I would have had to have a serious surgery. This is a Dr. that has seen me one time! I was so mad and then we all had a good laugh when they rolled there eyes and told him that they obviously know me better then him.

I was to have a nephrostagram later this week to see if I could get the tube out. However in order to have one of those a tube has to be in place. Since mine had fallen out they had to put a new one in. They tried to inject the dye with just a catheter to see, but the hole had already closed on the outside of my skin, so they had to reopen and they were able to get a wire in to test the tube. People who usually do this have some sort of medicine to make them loopy. I on the other hand like to watch and see what’s going on. I didn’t even get numbed. I just told them to do it and get it done. The first time I went to this lab they had a TV screen and I had ask if I could watch and since then every time I am on that table they pull the screen up to me so I can watch.

When they injected the dye it was so close to coming through the bladder. They just were not comfortable with leaving it out incase my kidney started acting up again. They had to put a new tube in. 😦 I was so disappointed, but I know God has a plan through all of this and I just need to shut my mouth and roll with it. BUT daggonit!!!! I am over this tube!!! I seriously HATE it!!! I can’t take a bath, I can’t get that side of my body wet in the shower, It hurts to sleep on that side because the plastic goes into my side and frankly who wants to carry a pee bag around with them everywhere they go? I’m human people. I need to get a little angry once in a while. I know it’s not the best way to be a witness to someone, but yes I get very angry over some of this stuff! I wanted that tube to be gone! I’m pretty sure God is over hearing me cry out to Him non stop for a little help!

I shouldn’t be so upset as I know people who have been dealing with cancer for over 15 years!! I’m just having a moment I guess, Next week I start a full week of radiation called a peremetrial boost. My Dr. told me that it’s going to kick my butt… Oh yeah, I’m excited! Just keep me in your prayers for not only healing of my body, but healing of my attitude. I know it’s ok to be upset once in awhile. I just can’t stay in that place for long!  Thanks for letting me vent tonight. I know it’s not what you all have come to expect of my writing. Thank you for your prayers!

 

Psalm 34:18 The Lord is close to the brokenhearted and saves those who are crushed in spirit

3 responses to “Just a little diarrhea of the Mouth

  1. Janice Englert says:

    Sarah, I have been reading your blogs and I have felt like replying , but didn’t know what to say or how to say it-but here it goes. We have never met, but I want you to know from reading your blogs , I know you have a lot of faith and courage . I admire you and commend you for reaching out and sharing your thoughts with us . I have been and will continue to pray with you and for you. God loves you and is with you. Of that , I have no doubt. Ron Englert’s wife ,Jan

  2. Sharon Albright says:

    You go Sarah-Keep up that “spunky” attitude! Love You!

Leave a Reply

