that crazy cancer girl

My journey through cervical cancer

The Greatest of these is Love

on February 9, 2014

386979_3821124802712_1821101254_n

 

I pulled my truck up to the restaurant and turned off the engine and waited. I was so scared and nervous. I had been on many dates, but mostly with people that I knew. I saw his car pull up beside me and the first thought was, he is way to good looking and is not going to like me! I started my truck back up and he quickly came over to the window and said, Are you Sarah?…. No lie, I looked at him and said, I can be if you want me to be. 😉 That was almost 16 years ago that I met the man I would marry. All those prayers of my sweet Mama for God to bring me not the perfect man, but to bring me the RIGHT man came true at that moment!

We have went through so much in these short 16 years that we almost didn’t make it through a time or two. However once we placed God in the middle of our marriage, we are stronger then ever.

I struggled with what to write about today as it has been a tough week and I am getting ready for another tough week with new treatments that my Dr. has already told me are going to kick my butt. During times like this when it seems one bad thing on top of another are being dumped on me, I try and find the good in my life. I’m sitting here on our couch and looking around at the pictures of the kids on the walls. I’m cuddled up in my favorite warm blanket from my bunco girls, I have my headphones on listening to praise and worship music and I think how blessed I am to be where I am at in this moment.

I never thought that I would be married and have kids and live in the suburbs. When Darin ask me to marry him I knew without a doubt that he was the one I was meant to be with. He has showed me more of this world then I ever thought I would see. He has made me laugh and if I may be honest, has made me cry. We have made 3 of the most amazing kids that I am so blessed to be called Mom. He has let me cry for weeks on end and held me tightly when I started throwing things in anger over losing my sweet Mama. He held me on that gurney in the ER when they told me that I had cancer. He has prayed with me over and over through treatments and surgeries.

He has brought me Tropical smoothie treats or a Wawa Milkshake when my appetite has been lacking to help get something in me. He goes to work faithfully everyday to provide for our family. I know he is so stressed with so much going on, yet everyday out of pure love for his family he makes sure that we are taken care of. Faithfully every week he gently changes out my bandage on my back where my tube is and every night flushes it out for me with saline. I can’t think of to many men that would do that for their spouse. I know without a doubt I wouldn’t have made it this far without him by my side.

I get so many cards and people asking me how I am doing and I need to let you know that I’m not the only one going through this, Darin is going through this right beside me. He needs your prayers just as much as I do.

I can’t tell you the unconditional love I have for Him! He already knows how I feel, but I wanted to let you all know that God gave me the RIGHT man and I am ever so thankful for him!

Do you know someone who is going through a rough patch right now? How about sending a card to the spouse or the parents or whoever is taking care of them. Caregivers needs just as many prayers and encouragement as the person going through a rough time. Take time this week to reach out to them!

 

1 Corinthians 13

If I speak in the tongues of men or of angels, but do not have love, I am only a resounding gong or a clanging cymbal. If I have the gift of prophecy and can fathom all mysteries and all knowledge, and if I have a faith that can move mountains, but do not have love, I am nothing. If I give all I possess to the poor and give over my body to hardship that I may boast, but do not have love, I gain nothing.

Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.

Love never fails. But where there are prophecies, they will cease; where there are tongues, they will be stilled; where there is knowledge, it will pass away. For we know in part and we prophesy in part, 10 but when completeness comes, what is in part disappears. 11 When I was a child, I talked like a child, I thought like a child, I reasoned like a child. When I became a man, I put the ways of childhood behind me. 12 For now we see only a reflection as in a mirror; then we shall see face to face. Now I know in part; then I shall know fully, even as I am fully known.

13 And now these three remain: faith, hope and love. But the greatest of these is love.

 

One response to “The Greatest of these is Love

  1. Sharon Albright says:

    Will be praying for Darin and you family . Love you.

Leave a Reply

