that crazy cancer girl

My journey through cervical cancer

I’m not Running!!

on February 12, 2014

887e25dce734cb367b2c2b32cec69e67

 

I had a hobby when I was little… It was running away. I had a little green suitcase that I would pack full of underwear. I thought if I faced any crisis I would at least have clean underwear on. I would grab my Daisy bb gun, my dog Bandit and my teddy bear and up the lane I would go. My Mom would always sent my brother Matt to follow me. I would get as far as the top of the hill scared as can be and would decide that maybe life wasn’t that hard and I would turn around and go home. Or Matt would tell me to stop being so stupid and go home so he wouldn’t have to follow me all the way to the end of the lane.

I stopped running away when I got a little older, but I have always had the urge to run many, many times as an adult. Matter a fact I had that urge last week when the kids said Mommy about 15,000 times within a 5 minute time frame. 😉

Of course I would never actually run away, but mentally I have ran miles upon miles to get away from life events. Right now the main one would be cancer. Wouldn’t it be wonderful to start running and the further I got from it the easier it would be? Now those of you that know me, know that I don’t run… I just can’t run. I would look like a drunk linebacker if I attempted it, so let’s just say I take brisk walks. 😉 Either way I imagine getting away from what I have to face everyday. Whether I think the grass is greener on the other side or my glass will be half full when I get there, I just want it to be easier.

However truth be told, if I ran it would take me away from where God has put me. He has a reason for me being in this place in this time. I’m not sure what the reason is, but I am here and I am hoping that one day I will understand. I receive emails or phone calls from some of you telling me what a blessing my writing has been. Many of you have suggested me writing a book. I have had readers in china, Japan, United Kingdom, Canada, Africa, England and Ireland. I’m not sure how they found out about me, but they are reading and I can only hope that God has me here to help someone else.

When I first found out I had cancer I thought about writing about it. My sister Becky called me and said, Sarah, I think you should write about this. two other friends called me and said Sarah, you love to write, why don’t you write about this… Ok, Ok God I hear you!! If I run, then how can God use me through this journey?

I have my luggage up in the attic and I am keeping my under wear in my drawer. The guns are safely put away and the teddy bear retired years ago! I won’t be running anytime soon. As hard as this journey gets, I know God is with me and He is using me as a beacon for Him. I guess I will never know if I have ever helped someone or not through my words, but I will continue to pray before I write each blog that my words would be His words and I can bless someone who is reading.

Are you running from something tonight? Maybe God has put you right where He wants you. You may not see the greener grass yet, but your story isn’t over and if you continue with God I can guarantee that the end result will be amazing!!

Hebrews 12:1   Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles. And let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us

2 responses to “I’m not Running!!

  1. NINA WILSON says:

    Sarah you are an amazing woman and such an inspiration…I too agree you should write a book you have such a God given talent to reach so many people…..<3 you

  2. Sharon Albright says:

    Keep writing Sarah! Love you.

Leave a Reply

