that crazy cancer girl

My journey through cervical cancer

Dear Lord, Please DON’T give me Energy!!

on February 17, 2014

dc32dfd816e8b02ddcdb548bd9ce6aa3

Sounds like a crazy title right? A complete oxymoron then what I am usually praying for. The prayer usually goes like this, Dear Lord, please give me the strength and energy to make it through the day…

Well today I woke up with what I thought was a little burst of energy and thought I would make the most of it. Most people with cancer might have taken a stroll in a park or read a book or something on the conservative side. Not this girl, no way! Let’s take the bull by the horns and roll with it! I decided to move around our bedroom and surprise D when he got home from work. I didn’t go downstairs to turn down the heat, but I was sweating like crazy and thought, no one was home so I would take my PJ pants off and do this in a tank top and skibbies.

I moved the nightstand out of the way so I could have better access to the mattress. I was cursing the day that we decided to get a 600 lb. mattress! I mean who really needs pillow top on BOTH sides anyway? Apparently we thought we did. I finally gave it a massive tug and it ended up standing straight up, then started to fall. I grabbed it and it kind of bend over right in front of our bedroom door. It blocked any type of exit for me, so I thought I’m in this for the long haul because I’m certainly not going anywhere until this is done. Before that happened though I had the bright idea to move the large chair in front of our bathroom door, so when the mattress fell it pushed the door up against the chair making it impossible to not only leave my room, but to use the restroom.

Now any normal person might have taken that as a hint that maybe I should wait until I have the help of another human, but I was too far gone and had to finish. We have this massive king size bed complete with solid wood headboard and footboard. I sure love this bed and have since the first day I laid my eyes on it. However it is HEAVY and very hard to move. I got one rail off and went to the other side to take the other rail off. Somehow I didn’t catch that the headboard was not properly braced and it came crashing down. I saw it happen, it was kind of in slow motion. In my head I thought I’m out of the way, it’s not going to hurt it to fall. Well I was out of the way, however my ankle was not. That sucker came down full force and slammed into my ankle. I might have lost conciseness for a few seconds and then took a deep breath in as I didn’t want to scream because the windows were open and no one wants to bring awareness to the neighbors and make them think something is wrong. Oh yeah, look at me, I sure grabbed that bull by the horns…

I sat down on the floor to look at the damage and it was not good! My ankle swelled up to the size of a tennis ball. I took a few deep breaths and did what any girl would do, I called a friend. 😉 This particular friend can fix ANYTHING! He is also an advanced EMT and also was a firefighter. I told him my scenario and ask him for advice. ( I think I just needed to vent) He said well if I was you , I would call 911. Well, that might have been an option if I didn’t have the downstairs locked, the bedroom door blocked and the fact that I had on no pants, no makeup and had not had a shower yet!! Just a few small details holding me back from making that phone call. 😉

After feeling sorry for myself a total of 5 minutes, I said ok Lord, it’s you and me. We have to get this bed back together so I can get out of this room. It look a lot of time, grunting, sweating and crying, but I got the bed back in place and the box springs back on. I pushed the mattress and got it half way back on. That would have to do as I had not one ounce of energy left. I crawled around and was able to take a quick shower and then scooted downstairs and found some ice. I gave up moving around the room and was very thankful that I could just get the bed back in place!

Now in my defense, I LOVE to move around the furniture. I get bored easily after a few months and my bedroom has been this way for almost 2 years! I just wanted a different look in the room. D came home and was not happy about this turn of events and helped me put the mattress back on. I have now been banned to the bedroom and told not to move!

I learned a big lesson from this. I need to be content with what I have been blessed with. I need to be content with loving my room the way it is and the comfort it brings me when I lay in this big bed every night. I need to not be so gung ho about a little energy and take things slowly. (Although I think God could have been a little easier on me with that whole slowing down part.) My ankle will heal and I will do dumb things again, but I will learn to be thankful for what I have already and not want something different. It’s ok to want nice things or better things. My Daddy used to tell me a quote that I have tried to live with all my life, “Always be thankful and appreciate what you have or God will never bless you with anything better”. I love our room just the way it is and I am thankful for that. Come spring when it’s time to repaint, I will allow my sweet hubby to help me move things around. In the mean time, I’ll just be hanging out here in bed with my ice pack and asking God to not give me any sudden burst of energy. 😉

1 Thessalonians 5:18  Give thanks in all circumstances; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you

One response to “Dear Lord, Please DON’T give me Energy!!

  1. Anonymous says:

    Sarah, as always, you have blessed my heart and soul with your words. Thank you for sharing them. Thank you for that much needed scripture verse too. You are loved. I am praying for you.

Leave a Reply

