that crazy cancer girl

My journey through cervical cancer

Be blessed or be a Blessing?

on February 19, 2014

Need-Help copy

I watched her and her husband walk in through the sliding glass doors. He was talking out of his head and not breathing well. She looked so scared and was trying to keep her composure as she spoke to the nurse. “I think he had a stroke”. He was placed in a wheelchair and rushed back to the ER and the nurse sent the wife to wait until they called her back. She sat a few rows behind me and as soon as her husband disappeared from sight she lost it. I heard her crying and felt so bad for her.

My Mother had this gift of seeing strangers in need and going right up to them and offering help. I on the other hand have never been that brave. However listening to her crying behind me I felt the urge to go to her. I hobbled on one foot and ask her if I could pray for her husband. She looked up at me with the most worn, tired eyes and said ” yes, please, I’m so scared”. I held her hand and prayed with her there in the ER for peace to come over her and her husband. I talked with her for about 5 minutes before they called me back. I don’t know the outcome of that story, but I can only hope and pray that they find answers and peace.

I didn’t want to go to the ER, but Darin insisted to see if my ankle was broken. I planned on going earlier, but then I was talking on the phone with a friend. Even when I got to the ER they took me right back and then realized someone was in front of me and they had to give her that bed and sent me back into the waiting room. Some might think I am crazy, but what if God made that timing just right for me to be in that waiting room when this couple had come in.

I always ask God to use me. I want to be a blessing to others and hopefully carry on the sweet spirit of my Mother who had no fear of witnessing to others. So many wonder if they are truly helping others or even question how to help others. Through this journey I have been on I have been blessed by so many people! From meals, help with the kids, cards, prayers, gifts. I could go on and on and you may not think it, but so many of you have been a blessing and a true help to me and my family.

It is so easy to help others. Yes the world is a scary place, but I think we have all had our moments of sitting on the bench and crying because something is hurting us so bad that we don’t know what to do or don’t know who to call. I can only hope that by praying with Christina today that it helped her. I’m glad that I was there in that moment in that time.

What about you? What can you do to reach out and help others. Don’t you think this world would be a much better place to live in if we all reached out to help a stranger? We live in such a “gimmie, gimmie, my name’s Jimmy” world where everyone is searching for ways to get the best for themselves. Can we make a generational change and start helping each other again? My challenge to you today is pay for the person behind you if you are getting a meal or coffee. Pray for someone that needs it, call a friend you haven’t spoken with in a while or one that is going through a tough time and ask them what you can do to help.

I know everyone is busy, but what if the table was turned and it’s you who needed that help or prayer? Make it a point to be a blessing to someone today! If you need to pray for someone then pray for Christina and Donny that they will feel God’s peace over this situation.

Philippians 2:4  Let each of you look not only to his own interests, but also to the interests of others.

One response to “Be blessed or be a Blessing?

  1. Sharon Albright says:

    Sarah, with all my heart I believe God placed you at the right place at the right time. He loves us so and will be with us, and help us to be a blessing even to those we don’t know. May you have a special blessed day today. You are loved. I continue praying for you, Darin and the children.

Leave a Reply

