that crazy cancer girl

My journey through cervical cancer

What is your Journey?

on February 24, 2014

90acc5c21d5806c75d05756d16d051a7

Webster’s dictionary defines a journey as “a trip from one place to another over a long distance.”

Whether I want to be or not, I am on a journey. Some people take wonderful journeys to exotic places and some take them to foreign lands. However some of us are placed on a journey whether we want to be or not. We question why we were picked for certain journeys and not the more exotic journeys.

My journey is to attack and fight this cancer as hard as I can! I have had amazing days on this journey that felt like I was high on the mountain and I have had many days where I have walked through the very dark valleys. Everyday is not like any others, everyday is different and it’s something I will never get used to.

During those “high” times I feel as though I can conquer this, I can fight this and I feel without a doubt that I can win this! I value those days highly because I know they are rare and hard to come by. When they happen I know God is allowing good things to happen so I have a little while to just breathe. When I am in the valley, it’s hard. Valleys are made of dark shadows and twist and turns that are hard to maneuver. A lot of people that I have come across whether it would be Doctors, or “friends” have attacked me with words like you are going to make it or you aren’t a strong enough fighter. I have even heard that statistics are working against you. These are the dark shadows and twist and turns that can attack you when you are walking through the valley.

Every day I step out in faith that my God can and will heal me! When I say heal me, I am saying that it may not be here on earth, but regardless of what happens I will be completely made whole in Heaven. That is the ultimate reward. When I stand on that mountain and look over everything I have been through I see Jesus on the other side of this. He may grant me many more years with my sweet family or He could decide to take me and heal me in Heaven. Either way I am excited to see what God has in store for me.

Today I am going through that valley. I am in pain and feel so frustrated how slow everything is going. I wanted to be done before summer so I can enjoy time with our awesome kiddos at the beach like we usually do. That’s my plan and not to say God couldn’t make that happen, but I have to be patient and wait on His plan. I have to walk through the valleys and on the mountains. Every step is taking me closer to God. He knew that my relationship with Him was lacking and walking through this journey has brought us so close and He knows that every step I take is a step of faith to rely on Him through everything!

What valley are you walking through today? Are you scared, hurting or angry? Take that step of faith towards God and place your valley in His hands. He will guide you through and you will know that He is with you every step you take!

Psalms 23

23 The Lord is my shepherd; I shall not want.

He maketh me to lie down in green pastures: he leadeth me beside the still waters.

He restoreth my soul: he leadeth me in the paths of righteousness for his name’s sake.

Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil: for thou art with me; thy rod and thy staff they comfort me.

Thou preparest a table before me in the presence of mine enemies: thou anointest my head with oil; my cup runneth over.

Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life: and I will dwell in the house of the Lord for ever.

 

 

2 responses to “What is your Journey?

  1. Anonymous says:

    Sarah, I look forward to your messages. You are such a BLESSING TO ME. Your words have strengthened me today. They are just what I needed. Our Lord is using you and will reward you for your faithfulness.
    Love you. I am still praying.

  2. Anonymous says:

    Yes, indeed the Lord does hear our prayers and always answers our prayers for healing whether it be here on earth or in heaven. God bless you and continue to cling to that cross.

Leave a Reply

