that crazy cancer girl

My journey through cervical cancer

Are you Disposable?

on February 26, 2014

trash_bag-590x500

I looked at my caller ID and rolled my eyes because this particular “friend” only called when she wanted something. I answered and on the other line I heard, Sarah! My best friend! How are you today?? Less then one minute into the conversation she told me what she wanted. This time it was a lot more than what I cared to do. I knew she was taking advantage of me. I had to make it stop, so I told her that I really like her as a friend, but I can no longer drop what I am doing and run to help her out or bail her out of things. She listened then flat out told me that she thinks we could no longer be friends. It hurt me that our friendship could be so disposable and easily pushed aside when things didn’t go her way.

This was not the first time this scenario played out and it hasn’t been the last time either. Many people have come in and out of my life. I don’t really call them friends anymore, I think the correct word would be acquaintances. No true relationship should be disposable when things get tough.

Before cancer I prayed and I will admit a lot of times it was me asking God for help with this or healing for that. I didn’t really take the time to sit and wait on God. I didn’t take the time to listen to God. I was like that friend that used me only when she wanted something. I have come to realize that a relationship is not a one way street. There is a give and take in any relationship. Especially one with God.

Sometimes in life God chooses to do something to “wake us up”. I fully believe that God has chosen this route for me because I needed to feel more, I needed to listen more and He needed me to love Him more. And you know what? It has worked! God didn’t walk out on me when I wanted Him to do things for me all the time because He isn’t selfish. I didn’t tell Him to leave when things got hard because I knew that through this journey I need Him more then anything else. Through the times when I feel lonely and let down, I know I have God to rely on and he is ok with being here for me. We have that relationship now where neither of us are going anywhere!

How disposable are you? With God, with your friends, with your spouse? Any relationship is hard work and always worth fighting for. God wants to have a relationship with you. He wants you to come to Him not just when things get hard, but to praise Him in the good times as well.  Make sure that you don’t throw away something good!

Hebrews 10:24   And let us consider how to stir up one another to love and good works

One response to “Are you Disposable?

  1. Sharon Albright says:

    Sarah, Praise Our Lord for your most apt words . God is blessing me through your messages. Love you. I am praying for you and your family.

Leave a Reply

