that crazy cancer girl

My journey through cervical cancer

Are you Brave?

on March 10, 2014

8162656064_7a46884d47

I’m tired of being “brave”… Ever feel that way? I sure have and a lot more so lately!! Sometimes I would like to just stay in my pajama’s and cuddle up on the couch with my favorite blanket and whine and cry and take the brave face off for awhile. I think Lord, what is my gain from all of this? Nothing is making sense to me right now! Why can’t you just fix this and we can carry on with the life that I had all planned out!

As this was going through my head the thought crossed my mind… What if Jesus had taken off His brave face and took Himself off that cross. Where would we be then?

This morning our pastor’s message was pretty deep. The question that she asked us all is still laying heavy on my heart and is spoken over and over on my lips. Where are you? Life is disrupting, unexpected, inconvenient and never as planned. We get hit on all sides from illnesses, stress, family and so much more that we can easily take our eyes off of God and turn our attention to something else. It would have been so easy for me to be angry at God for having cancer. I could have turned my back on Him and went my own way. However just as our pastor said her GPS recalculates, so must our vision.

Cancer is a stumbling block that got in my way when I least expected it. I had to recalculate with God. Okay God, what now? Where are you leading me and what do I have to do to get through this? Sounds so easy doesn’t it… Can I be honest with you? Outside of the pain and the surgeries it truly has been easy. Am I frustrated at times, Am I scared at times? Absolutely!! But I can’t imagine doing this journey without God. I have Him to go to when I’m scared; I have Him to go to when I am frustrated and sick. He is holding me through this and yes I want to stop being brave some days, but I think about what He went through for me and I know that I have to be strong. I want to be like Jesus and follow in His footsteps.

When someone asked me, where are you? I want to tell them without a doubt I am exactly where God wants me to be! I want to say, it is well with my soul and never miss a beat! This past week was rough; I didn’t want to get out of bed most days. I didn’t even want to get out of bed and go to church this morning, but I did and I can’t take that for granted. As long as the good Lord gives me breath, I will use it to praise Him.

He has given us a new week, what are you going to do with it? Will you put on your brave face? Will you be ready to keep your eyes on Jesus, regardless of what life throws at you? Thank God for the life He has blessed you with.

1 Corinthians 16:13-14  Keep alert, be firm in your faith, stay brave and strong and show love in everything you do!

One response to “Are you Brave?

  1. Sharon Albright says:

    Sarah, Thanks for reminding me that Jesus is the One I need to keep my eyes upon. He knows what to do! I love You! Praying!

Leave a Reply

