that crazy cancer girl

My journey through cervical cancer

Running the Race

on March 16, 2014

001

When our son Caleb came to us and said that he wanted to run a marathon, I didn’t think he was serious. We have never been a running family. Sure the kids run around and play, but as far as competitive, no it just doesn’t happen. I said sure son, that would be great! Before we knew it he was staying after school to train with his classmates, he started running around the neighborhood and he became dedicated! I felt like I was watching a rerun of Forrest Gump, that boy was running everywhere!

The closer it got to race day, the more he ran! I have to be honest, I was impressed! When I realized how serious he was about this I thought how can we cheer him on and make him know that we are with him all the way. I have seen pictures in the paper of this race from previous years and everyone dresses up and has a lot of fun with it. I broke out my scissors and thread and started making tutus and t-shirts and everything clover! I bought some iron on letters and we made “Team Caleb” shirts. He got so excited seeing that we were doing all of this for him.

Yesterday morning we all got up and put on our outfits and got ready for racing day!

004 006 007 008

Oh it was so much fun and to feel the energy and excitement in the air was awesome! I enjoyed every moment of that day. Caleb finished his mile in just under 10 minutes. He told me, Mom I would have been a lot quicker, but I had a lot of people in my way. 😉 The pride just bubbled out of me. I’ll admit, I was glad I had on dark sunglasses because I let a tear or two fall. Some may think it’s weird to feel this way and believe me, it’s weird for me to feel this way. I have never been a crier, ever! However when you have a disease, everything becomes something I can’t really explain. I love my husband so much more, I love and cherish our kids so much that it hurts. I take nothing for granted and I never want to miss an opportunity to have fun with my family. I can only explain it as if I were blind and then I could see or I was deaf and then suddenly can hear. The feelings and emotions are intensified so much… I felt so proud of our sweet Caleb that I couldn’t help but shed a few tears.

As I was watching him run yesterday I thought it’s just like God. We wake up everyday and face the trials of life and God is cheering us on. When we make decisions to follow Him, He is just like a parent and His heart swells with pride. He feels so much for us and loves us so much that He died for us, for you and for me. Just like I crave spending as much time with my family as possible, God is craving time with us.

You know, God is really for us.  He wants us to finish strong.  Just like a loving parent, He is yelling at us not to give-up, to do our best, to push on.  I know the love and pride I feel for our kiddos is just a glimpse of what He feels for us.

We spend so much time with friends, on our phone, watching tv, but how much time do you spend with God? When was the last time you dusted off your bible and read it? When do you pray, only when you need something or to say thank you God for the many blessings you have given me. Won’t you let Him cheer you on?

Hebrews 12:1(b) …”Let us run with patience the race that is set before us.’

 

2 responses to “Running the Race

  1. Grandpa & Grandma Unterbrink says:

    So proud of ALL of you!!! What a wonderful day for Caleb and we simply LOVE the picture with his fantastic full smile.

  2. Sharon Albright says:

    Great pictures. So glad to hear you had a fun day.Love you. Praying.

Leave a Reply

