that crazy cancer girl

My journey through cervical cancer

Catching up

on March 24, 2014

Update

You know when you watch your favorite show on TV and when it starts it will say, Previously on such and such… I feel like I should start out with that. Previously on that crazy cancer girl, Sarah needed help! 😉

This week has been trying at times yet God has shown Himself true to His word that He will never leave us or forsake us. I had my appointment on Thursday and it was painful, but this Dr. is so amazing in her ability to make me feel as though I am her only patient and to make me understand so easily what is happening in my body. All the pain I have been is apparently is normal… Now I have been called many, many things over the years, but I can assure you, “normal” has never been said in the same sentence as my name. 😉

She explained to me that my body has been radiated for almost 5 months which has served as a buffer for the pain. Now the radiation is leaving my body and my body is not liking it one bit. It’s wondering where that buffer went and I am feeling e.v.e.r.y.t.h.i.n.g! Now I am going to get a little personal, but I warned you all about a possibility of that happening when I started this thing, so skip to the next paragraph should you not want to read this. Now for an entire month every time I had to pee it felt like I was giving birth. The sweating, crying and wondering if my insides were going to fall out. My Dr. had told me that I had to be patient for a month until my next appointment, so thinking this was part of cancer, I did not call her.

Well on Thursday when she took a urine sample, not only do I have an extreme UTI, but the lab told her that I have the worst bladder infection that they have seen in the history of the lab. Almost so that if these rounds of meds I’m on don’t work then I may have to go to the hospital and get antibiotics through an IV. She was not real happy with me that I didn’t call. However I told her, my Dad always said if you are going to go, then go big! 😉 I have been faithfully taking my pills as I really want to avoid any more hospital stays!

She did an internal exam and you can only see a little tiny bit of the tumor as most of it is up near my uterus. What she could see she told me that it does look like it has slightly shrunk a little off the side walls. She is not sure how much if any the upper part has shrunk. I go back next week for a more thorough exam and they will be able to give me a better answer to what is going on. She has already informed me that I still have a very long road ahead of me and we are still sort of at the start of things…. I guess she didn’t realize I wanted to be done with all of this by summer. 😉

Regardless the pet scan is scheduled for May and then we will see everything and how it looks and go from there. That is the hardest part is the waiting.

On a lighter note, we celebrated our son Jax 9th birthday this weekend. Loads of fun! We took him out to his favorite place, Cracker Barrel for dinner on Friday. Saturday we had a house full of boys for a hockey themed birthday party, then Saturday night we went to see our local team the Norfolk Admirals play. Sunday we went to church, play practice then took him to see the new movie, God’s NOT Dead! What a phenomenal movie!!! I challenge each of you to go and see this movie! I pray that I am NEVER ashamed of sharing God with everyone around me.

Over all I would have to say aside from the pain, it was a blessed week. God always provides and I continue to be amazed at what He does for us. Thank you for all your prayers and continued support of not only for me, but for our family. I pray you all have a blessed week!

Deuteronomy 31:6  Don’t mistake God’s patience for His absence. His timing is perfect, and His presence is constant. He’s always with you!

3 responses to “Catching up

  1. Kelli Williams says:

    Sarah, I am so happy to read this. To say you have been on my heart this week is an understatement. Praying for you!

  2. Sherry Rotter says:

    Amen Crazy Cancer Girl. Keep Pressing in on Him and Keep Looking Up> the greatest gift we give our children is teaching them how to get through adversity and even on the bad days you are doing a great job. Being honest, open and connected to God, Awesome!

  3. Sharon Albright says:

    Sarah, the movie,” God’s Not Dead” is awesome! Theater had lots of people watching it and clapping their hands! You are awesome too! Keep TRUSTING our LORD! Love you and still praying. ( We prayed for you in our Sunday School class this Sunday too).

Leave a Reply

