that crazy cancer girl

My journey through cervical cancer

Have you been Forgotten?

on March 26, 2014

1511353_10201988506650331_125864479_n

I sat down on the curb and started crying, I had been forgotten… again. My parents used to take two vehicles to church every Sunday because Dad had to be there early and Mom would finish getting herself and all of us kids ready and then come a little later. When church let out we would either say I’m riding with Mom or I’m riding home with Dad. I guess I failed to do that and was more focused on running around playing with my friends. Mom thought I was with Dad and Dad thought I was with Mom. The church got locked up and everyone left and sat on the curb and waited and cried.

This was not the first time and I had a feeling this would not be the last. I didn’t have a cell phone to call them and would have to wait until they got home to realize I was not with either of them. It would take a good 30+ minutes before Dad would come flying up the church driveway and would apologize at first, then follow it up with, Do you realize how much gas it takes to get from our house to the church and back? Why were you not paying attention?

Gas was all of sixty cents a gallon back then, but I can imagine it felt the same as what we are paying now. We did live a good 15-20 minutes away from the church, but was it really my fault that they forgot me? I still to this day do not think so. I say if your going to have a lot of kids, it’s your responsibility to count heads. 😉

I feel sort of like I’m sitting on that curb again just waiting. I’m not in treatment anymore and I only see the Dr. now about once every couple of weeks. I am waiting for God to show Himself hugely through all of this. When I saw my Dr. last week she told me I still have 6 weeks to wait until I get the pet scan. Do ya’ll realize how long that is?? That’s like telling a kid that they can’t get any new toys because they have to wait for Christmas! It’s really hard!!!

The other day believe it or not it was almost 80 degrees. I type this as light snow is falling outside my window… at the beach… in spring! ( Bless you Jesus for showing us a little humor) I sat on my porch and decided I would clean out my flower garden. Darin got the rake out for me and as I was scrapping away all the pine needles and hay (winter blanket stuff) I started seeing little bits of green here and there. The more I cleaned out, the more beauty I saw coming out of that ground. The picture I included at the top is my beautiful Hyacinths that were hidden.

As I was doing this God placed it on my heart that I am just like those flowers. They waited all winter long under that cold hard ground. I had forgotten what all I had planted last year and figured I would see come spring what all came up. They stayed under just strengthening themselves. They had to push through the cold and the hard dirt to surface themselves into something beautiful. God is doing that same thing in me. I often feel forgotten and left on the curb, but God is doing something amazing in me and I am going to have to push through the pain and these dark seasons and when this is all done, I will have something beautiful! Whether it would be a beautiful testimony of God’s healing powers or a beautiful new body in Heaven. Either way it’s a win – win situation!

Do you feel forgotten or left out in the cold. Oh my dear friends you don’t have to feel that way! God’s wants to make you new, He wants to take care of you and heal you and help you. Whatever the situation, give it to Him! He is waiting and will never forget you.

Lamentations 3:25  The Lord is good to those who wait for him, to the soul who seeks him

 

 

One response to “Have you been Forgotten?

  1. Sharon Albright says:

    Sarah, Just like that flower you could not see ,that is how we view God at times. We can’t see Him or feel His presence , but we can be certain that He is with us. Thank you for being so open with your thoughts and sharing them. You are a “flower” of beauty to so many. Love you. Still praying! “I love the Lord, because He hath heard my voice and my supplications.”Psalm 116:1 KJV.

Leave a Reply

