that crazy cancer girl

My journey through cervical cancer

Spring Cleaning

on April 2, 2014

Dirty-Heart

Today was beautiful! Can we all agree that we are tired of the wind, rain, snow, ice and cold? Not to mention the outlandish gas bill to heat this old house?!? That one will probably be hurting us till the middle of summer! Regardless I am so very thankful for the beautiful weather. The flowers are blooming and the trees are budding. I got out the mower today and had the kids clean up the back yard and took my time riding around and thoroughly enjoying the scenery around me.

When I got done, I told the kids and Darin to come in the back yard so we can take the cover off the pool and start treating it. Some time during the winter the cover was moved and opened some off the side. When we pulled it off the water was green and full of pine needles and leaves. It just looked nasty! It sure didn’t look that way from the top. Sitting on the deck I look at the pool often and would have never known the filthiness that was under that cover. It’s going to take a lot of work and a lot of chemicals to get that cleaned up as I believe I am to cheap to drain it and start from scratch! 😉 However I have to weigh the options of what will be cheaper, buy multitudes of chemicals and a new vacuum or start from scratch and refill the whole thing again…

Tonight when I was thinking about that I remembered a time when people thought I looked good. Okay, okay, stop laughing. There was a time of skinny days 😉 I did make myself look good and I would fix my hair and makeup and head out to the bars and places I should have never went. Oh I looked good on the outside, but inside looked just like our pool did today. Full of filth. Hatred, lying, deceiving and so much more. I was hiding who I truly was and I unfortunately was okay with that. Even when I stopped doing all of that and started going to church, my heart was still ugly. It wasn’t until I truly gave my heart to God that He cleaned me out and made me beautiful on the inside.

How many times do we see people and think they are so beautiful. We are so quick to judge another’s outward appearance and not give a second thought to what is going on in the inside. Even in our churches, we may think certain “Christians” have it all together and then they go home and drink, cuss and carry on just like someone who doesn’t have God.

I challenge you tonight to seek your own heart. Do you need God to clean out the filth and replace it with cleanliness? He is willing and ready to do that and all you have to do is ask. Why don’t you do a little spring cleaning of your heart and soul tonight and throw out all that stuff that is taking up crucial space and allow God to take over.

1 Samuel 16:7  The LORD does not look at the things man looks at. Man looks at the outward appearance, but the LORD looks at the heart. 

 

2 responses to “Spring Cleaning

  1. Lisa Snyder says:

    Hello Sarah! I am friends with Matt and Traci. I have been praying for you and wanted you to know how your words have personally inspired me to really search out who I am in Christ. Thank you so much for sharing and I know God has a healing time for you. Love in Christ, Lisa

  2. Sharon Albright says:

    Sarah, thank you for your words of truth. People see the outside, but really may not know what a person is feeling on the inside. I am thankful that God does know us and still loves and understands all our needs. He deals with our needs when no one else can, when we allow Him to. Have a great rest of the week. Love you and still praying.

Leave a Reply

