that crazy cancer girl

My journey through cervical cancer

Encourage and uplift, but most of all, LOVE

on April 24, 2014

20140413_080539

What is this? Two blogs back to back? You don’t say! Well I needed to just write because the loneliness has set in and if I don’t do something, I’m going to make a fool of myself and cry in the hospital. No one wants to see the funny, cheery girl break down, right? So here I am again tonight and I want to share something with you that I get the honor of having every day of my life until God says otherwise.

I have talked about my sweet hubby Darin before and I just need to talk about him again. I know he doesn’t like for me to talk much about him, but sometimes you just need to talk. Tomorrow morning he is leaving for Arizona to participate in his childhood friends wedding. Erik is the sweetest guy and since the first day I met him I knew he would make a great hubby to a beautiful woman one day and here it is, he found a beautiful woman and they will be married this weekend. I couldn’t be happier for him and I am so thrilled that it turned out that Darin could stand up with him to celebrate this very special day. I wish I could go with him so bad, but sometimes things don’t work out the way we want… case in point I am sitting in a hospital bed instead of helping him pack.

When things like me going to the hospital at the spur of the moment, come up, Darin steps up to the plate and does not complain. He gathers the kids and finds places for them, he rushes to my bedside to be with me, he cooks dinner, and cleans, does the laundry, helps the kids with homework and so much more. I know he is so stressed, yet he still smiles and does it for the love of his family. I wish I could tell him and show him how much I love and appreciate him, but sometimes the words seem so simple when all I can say is, I love you.

I know a lot of you that read this are married and I have to throw this out, how many times do we say words of affirmation to our husbands. Yes a lot of you women work outside the home and still be a mom and a wife when you get home. Call me old fashioned, but I think the man still needs to be the head of the household. It’s in the bible and it stands true in our home. Darin will always be the head of the household and I love him so much for being the husband and father that he is. Tonight I am going to put on here words of affirmation for Darin, but I challenge you to tell them to your husbands and husbands if you are reading, twist them around to tell them to your wife. Everyone needs encouragement and to hear words like this builds each other up.

Darin, I love you and I am so proud that you are the one that God handpicked for me. I am blessed beyond blessed to call you my husband. Have fun with your buddies and come home safely! Here is what I want to say to you. 😉

Thank you for working so hard

Thank you, thank you, thank you!

You are wonderful

Thank you for listening

Thank you for caring

I admire your strength

I trust you completely

Thanks for fixing that

How can I Help?

I admire your faith

You are an amazing father

I love to watch you be a dad

What a gentleman you are!

The day goes by 10 times faster when you’re home!

How are you so handsome?!

I can’t stop looking at you

Wow! Thank You

Thanks for all your help around the house

Thank you for leading, directing and protecting our family!

I trust you with everything

I’m so happy

You are incredible

I like the way you think

You always have the best suggestions

I love being with you

You are an amazing husband

I’m lucky to have you

I’m grateful I married you

I love when you just hold me

I respect you for that

You are too good to me

That was so meaningful to me

Thank you for your sacrifice

You know exactly what I need!

What would be a fun date night for you?

You are so funny

I’m in love with you

You will do great!

I’ve never known you not to succeed

Remember to say things like this on a daily basis to your spouse and I can tell you they will appreciate it!

1 Corinthians 13:4-7 Love is patient and kind; love does not envy or boast; it is not arrogant or rude. It does not insist on its own way; it is not irritable or resentful; it does not rejoice at wrongdoing, but rejoices with the truth. Love bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things.

2 responses to “Encourage and uplift, but most of all, LOVE

  1. Robert H. Morris says:

    Dear Sarah: I heard from your Dad again and he is so proud of you. I can see why. He tells me your tumor has shrunk considerably. That is good news. I pray for you and your Dad daily. Your comments on telling your spouse how good you feel about them is great advice, but my days to do that ended twenty-two years ago. We were married for forty-seven and a half years when she died. Thank you for your sharing. Bob Morris

  2. Sharon Albright says:

    Sarah, what a great reminder! Thank You, Love ya! Still think of you and pray for you too!

Leave a Reply

