that crazy cancer girl

My journey through cervical cancer

How do you Love your Family?

on July 11, 2014

027Our kiddos with cousins!

I was raised in a large family. I’m the baby of 5, my Mama was the oldest of 5 and my Daddy was the second oldest of 6, so even the extended family goes on and on. We were never without someone to play with when growing up and it was awesome! When we got older all of us kids went our separate ways and started our own families, but we remained in touch with each other. When I met Darin I gained a whole new family, another large one!!

It has been wonderful meeting new faces of cousins and Aunts and Uncles over the years. Seeing them again over the past few days has been so nice to catch up and let the kids meet extended cousins and play at the farms here in Iowa. I love seeing them so happy! This trip has been such a blessing to all of us, but especially for me. Stopping in WV at first gave me a chance to spend time with my brother and sisters, nieces and nephews and especially my Daddy. I was able to see my sweet Aunt and my dear cousin and even met my second cousin for the first time who is going to be married tomorrow! I’m so excited for her new beginning! We saw friends that we haven’t seen in ages and got to catch up with so many people all in 4 days! It was a whirlwind of activity and I wouldn’t trade it for the world!

I treasured every moment with those that I don’t get to see to often. When we headed out of WV and off to Indiana it was sad to say our goodbyes. I never know when I am going to get back to see everyone. When we finally got to Iowa here it has been so wonderful to see more family on Darin’s side. We went to his cousin’s farm yesterday and the kids were one big dirt ball from top to bottom by the time we left. They rode around on the John Deere Gators through mud puddles and grass and had a blast! They played with the 7 new kittens and the new pup. We petted the pigs and saw the new massive tractors. I have to admit I got behind the wheel of one gator and got a little dirty myself! We honestly had a blast and it was so wonderful to spent time with the “D family” as we like to call them. 😉

Tonight we are heading over to Darin’s Aunt and Uncles house for dinner and to see there beautiful horse farm! On Sunday close to 40 family members will be coming over to celebrate Caleb’s 11th birthday! It will be so awesome to see those I know and meet the new ones that have been praying for our family! Today when we went into town Paul my father n law took us to a local artist who does glass blowing. It was so beautiful and awesome to see how he made nothing into something beautiful! I sat there in awe and it made me think how God takes us from nothing and molds and makes us into something beautiful!

We so enjoyed the whole day and hanging out with the in-laws. What I’m trying to get at with all of this is I am blessed, I am beyond blessed with so much family on both sides just loving on us so much! Even if I wasn’t sick I know that they would still love on us non stop. Our friends have stepped up so much for us because we don’t have family in the area. We couldn’t have done any of what we have gone through without our friends. What we are getting to love about this trip is the family. It is so awesome to soak up the time that goes by way to quick with our family!

How do you appreciate your family? Do you have a good relationship or one that is stressed? Why don’t you take a moment to place a phone call, send a text or an email to let your family know how much you love and appreciate them. If you have a stressed relationship then make that first move to let them know that you are thinking of them. We all have great friends, but family will always be a part of you!

Joshua 24:15 But if serving the LORD seems undesirable to you, then choose for yourselves this day whom you will serve, whether the gods your forefathers served beyond the River, or the gods of the Amorites, in whose land you are living. But as for me and my household, we will serve the LORD

One response to “How do you Love your Family?

  1. Melissa Labott says:

    Sarah, I woke up tonight at 1:30 am. This is not unusual for me, so I started to read a book, which usually makes me sleepy. I went on Facebook and your post for prayer was the first thing I saw. Then I saw your link to your blog and have been reading it for the last two hours. You are so amazing…your posts are honest, but everyone of them, you are thankful to our Savior. You have put things in perspective for me and I don’t think it was a coincidence that your post was the first I saw. I have been praying for you, but haven’t heard updates. I will now pray specifically for you and your beautiful family. I am speechless right now, because the other day, I was complaining about our oven being broken and not having the money to fix it. I have a wonderful husband, three beautiful girls, a roof above my head, and a God who loves me unconditionally. I deal with some health issues….you have taught me tonight, to dwell on what’s most important. Our Savior, family, friends and that God is in control, no matter what. I would love to see you when you get home from your trip. Thank you for taking the time to write this…..you are Amazing, fierce and you are going to kick cancer’s ass….or butt ;):) love ya
    Melissa Labott

Leave a Reply

