that crazy cancer girl

My journey through cervical cancer

Home is Truly Where the Heart is!!

on July 19, 2014

015

Oh my word!! Has it really been 1 week since I have blogged? This is the longest I have gone since I began and I thought I better start writing before I lose my readers! ūüėČ You all have no idea how much you mean to me! Every last one of you! It has been a long day today and we drove for exactly 10 hours! We made it to our hotel that we reserved a week ago and even called them today to tell them that we were running behind because of all the rain, but we would be there! Only to show up and hear that they had no room for us… I believe Darin’s head was going to blow up right off his neck! For a man that had been driving for 10 hours who just wanted to stretch out and hearing they had no room, was I believe the old saying of the straw that broke the camel’s back. Maybe that’s even an understatement!

Anyway we came another 10 miles down the road and found another hotel that was a thousand times better for the same price! We are all relaxing right now and hoping for a wonderful night of rest! We are coming to the end of our journey and although we seriously had the time of our lives we are ready for home. Our home, our bed, hugging our sweet pups that have been without us, taking care of our gardens and relaxing on the back deck in the evenings. We . Can’t. Wait!!!!

When I went to collage it was the first time that I had been away from WV, from my family, from my friends, my church and so many other things that I took for granted. It was tough those first few weeks, but as time went on it became easier and I got into a groove and I managed. When my parents came to pick me up after that first semester I remember literally pacing the campus knowing they were on there way. I couldn’t wait to wrap my arms around my parents and have some of Mom’s home cooking! When we crossed that line that said, Welcome to wild, wonderful West Virginia, I almost cried!

I remember rolling down my window and smelling that fresh country air and seeing the rolling hills. We pulled into our driveway and I got out and ran down to the back lot and just smiled! We had 53 and a half acres full of trails and rivers and loads of fun and I couldn’t wait to unpack and explore all of those acres again! I was so excited to be home!!

I believe I’ll feel that same way when we get home to the beach! I will roll down our windows and smell that amazing salty air and feel the sea breeze on my face! I will unpack then go to our beach and feel the cool sand between my toes and see our sweet pups. Nothing can replace that feeling of home!

It has been an amazing trip and I am so glad that we were able to show the kids so much of this great country we live in. We saw and did so many awesome things that we would have never had the opportunity to do if we had stayed home this summer. It was so awesome seeing the excitement and wonder on the kids faces when they got to experience new things. We met more relatives and got to visit with those we already knew, we got to meet friends for the first time and we smiled and laughed till our sides hurt.

The best part was we forgot all about hospitals, Dr.s and cancer for 2 and a half weeks!! There were days when the pain was more then I could handle, but we took our time through things and the pain would pass and we got right back up and kept going. We took everything in stride and enjoyed every blessed moment of this vacation!

I can’t thank each and everyone of you that had a part in helping us with this vacation, for those of you who we got to visit and meet along the way and for all of you who have prayed and continue to pray for us each and everyday. Please continue to share my blog as I will keep you updated along the way. I will especially need your prayers this coming week as I face a long and challenging week.

Monday I go in to the hospital at 8am to get my medi port put in, Tuesday I go to donate my hair and pick up Montana’s best friend from the airport for 10 days! We can’t wait to have her here with us!! Wednesday I go¬†back to the hospital to get my tube changed out and Thursday I start the new chemo. It’s going to be a long and painful week and I am going to need your prayers so much! So please pray, share this with your friends and family so they can pray. Your prayers are what gets me through each day and I couldn’t have gotten this far without them.

Do you have a special place that you call home? Not only does our own home make us happy, but God is home to me as well. When things get rough we always want to go home and crawl in our bed and get away from it all, but when we can’t run home, we can go to God and allow Him to hold us and make us feel better. Where is your home tonight? Why don’t you let God move in your heart and feel the peace that only He can bring.

1 Corinthians 3:16 Don’t you know that you yourselves are God’s temple and that God’s Spirit dwells in your midst?

One response to “Home is Truly Where the Heart is!!

  1. Sandra Hess Greenfield says:

    Still praying for you each and everyday, may the Lord touch your body in a very special way. So glad you had a great vacation you deserve it. God is good all the time, all the time God is good!!

Leave a Reply

