that crazy cancer girl

My journey through cervical cancer

Who is your Hero?

on July 26, 2014

10514547_10202955163940335_8063751559096584205_n

If you were a child of the 70’s or 80’s you probably remember Underoos. I had quite a few pairs and I thought they were so awesome of an “outfit” that I would wear them quite frequently running around the house. If I had to go outside then I would just put a pair of shorts on and leave the tank top as my top. I would have to say my favorite one was the one with Wonder Woman on it. She was awesome! At the ripe age of 7, she was my hero. She was a woman that could do anything and I so wanted to be her!!

As I got older I started to understand what made up a real hero. Men and women going off to war, never returning to their families and making the ultimate sacrifice. They are true heroes. Watching my Dad go through surgery after surgery and fighting through the pain to go to work every day for his family and then running a food bank for over 30 years to feed family after family. He is a true hero. Watching my Mama fight through her painful cancer to continue to lead others to Christ while cancer was eating away at her body and she still smiled through it all. She was a true hero.

Wednesday morning my dear friends had told me to come to church in the afternoon. I knew something was up because of certain things that had been said throughout the week, but I didn’t know to what extent. When we pulled up there was a sign that said “Parking for Sarah Unterbrink” hanging on the outside rails in front of the church. Immediately I wanted to not get out of the truck. I believe I have mentioned it before that I am not a fan of being in the limelight. As I walked inside my favorite piano player Keith was playing beautiful music coming from the sanctuary. My friend Lori came over to me and told me I needed to follow her in the sanctuary. As I walked in people were sitting in the pews and my mind was screaming at me to run the other way.

Everyone started coming up to me and hugging me and telling me how proud they are of me… I thought maybe they were celebrating my funeral ahead of time so I know what it would be like. 😉 After everyone got seated, Lori started telling me what a great influence I was for her and how much of an inspiration I am and I honestly wasn’t grasping it all. Then the side door opened and there was my friend Carolyn holding lots of balloons, followed by tv people and camera men! I was waiting for the Publishers sweepstakes people to follow, but they must have missed the memo. 😉 Anyway they presented me with an award called, Hampton Roads Hero award… Me a hero? No, no, no, you have the wrong person! You see I just have cancer, I don’t do anything special. Millions of people have cancer. There are so many out there that do awesome, amazing things that deserve a hero award. Not me! My mind was racing and the camera man was really close! When you all watch this on tv just be sure not to focus on the large pores that he was zooming on 😉

Everything seemed to fly by and I’m not sure everything that was said or even what I said, but I wanted them to know that God is my hero. He is the one who helps me with this fight everyday. I sit here in my bed and look at the beautiful plaque I was presented with while chemo is ravaging my body I certainly don’t feel like a hero. I have no red cape and I certainly do not have my Underoos anymore, but I do have God’s word to stand on and I have Him to hold my hand and help me through this tough journey.

My friend Carolyn nominated me for this award. The one who works everyday, the one who takes care of her 3 kids everyday, The one who helped start the kids Closet at her church to help less fortunate ones clothe and feed their littles. The one who works in the nursery every Sunday and still finds time to take her kiddos to ballet, football, basketball and every other sport… She nominated me for this award. Maybe I feel a little backwards about excepting it knowing what she does everyday. However she did this for me and here is what she wrote…

In recognition of your extraordinary efforts and commitment to the Hampton Roads community, FOX43 celebrates your invaluable service to others. You were nominated by Carolyn for your commitment to people everywhere through your blog, “That Crazy Cancer Girl.” In the nomination she said: Although she is in the battle for her life, she remains upbeat and encouraging to so many others. She is an incredible inspiration to her family, friends, Sunday School class, and thousands of others that she has never even met through her blog of her journey. A journey that would cause many to hide under their covers and push the world away. Sarah ends each blog with an inspirational thought, question, or an invitation to pray for others. She is a true Hampton Roads Hero!!….

Those words were some of the hardest words I have ever had to read. I’m so thankful for friends that treat me with such passion and love regardless of who I am or how I act. I want to them all know that they are my true hero’s! They are the ones that cheer me up and hold my hand through the tough times. They are the ones who leave beautiful gifts on my porch for me to discover when I come home from the hospital stays, they are the ones who will let me call or text in the middle of the night and say I need prayer and they will pray with me. No capes need here, just true Heroes!

Who is you hero? Who do you look up to in times of need? Do you have supportive friends or family? If not I would love to introduce you to God! He is an amazing Hero that will help you through any circumstance that comes your way! Give it to Him tonight and allow Him to hold your hand through the tough times!

Ephesians 1:6 To the praise of the glory of His grace, by which He made us accepted in the Beloved

2 responses to “Who is your Hero?

  1. Sandra Hess Greenfield says:

    Praying for you Sarah, just beautifully written!

  2. Anonymous says:

    Congratulations on this award. We continually have you in prayer.

Leave a Reply

