that crazy cancer girl

My journey through cervical cancer

Thankful Through the Storm

on July 30, 2014

View 2014-07-29-22-03-03-863073743.jpeg in slide show

She came in to my room to mop the floors and empty the trash. Most people overlook those who clean, but I love to talk with anyone! I struck up a conversation and we ended up talking for 20 minutes. It honestly was the highlight of my day. She shared with me some of her past and told me how she became a Christian a little over a year ago. It was so wonderful to hear of God’s mercy in her life and God’s grace that has been given to her.

I think about why I am constantly in the hospital. I have been here since Sunday and hopefully get to leave tomorrow. I had a bad reaction to the chemo and ended up with chemo induced neuropathy. I kept asking God why I have to keep going through this over and over, but continually I am here. Today I thrived on hearing this ladies story. She was so thankful to me for listening and I then I am reminded how God puts you in places at certain times for a reason.

I believe today was one of them. She trusted me with her powerful story and it gave me goose bumps to hear what others have gone through. When I feel sorry for myself and what I am going through I think of others who have gone through so much more and I thank God for His grace.

In some weird way, I love coming to this hospital. I know I have talked about it many times, but I feel so loved here. The nurses are amazing and I know without a doubt that I am in the best of hands. When I walk through the halls in the main lobby and different people from the angio lab, nurses and others see me and come up to give me a hug. It’s so wonderful to know these people and have them in my life. Whether they know it or not, they have made an impact on my life and I am so thankful that God placed me in this moment in this time.

Tonight as I sit here in my bed, I feel peace. My sister drove down from WV and has been by my side this entire time. She has a little bed made up beside me and has been an amazing sidekick for me. My dear friends, Kim and Lori have taken the kids to their homes and fed them and had fun with them while Darin was at work. I am loved, I am taken care of and regardless of the situation whether it’s good or bad, God hasn’t changed and He is right here with me every step of the way.

When I think things aren’t going my way, God shows up and lets me know that He is still with me and just like the sweet lady who cleaned my room this morning, I am thankful that God steps in when we need Him most.

Do you take time to be thankful? Not just when things are going your way, but even in times of trials? I try to tell myself that it could always be so much worse. Someone out there is going through so much more. The lady this morning went through pure hell and she is thankful for God intervening in her life. Are you thankful that even in the bad times God is with you and is holding you through it? Tell God what you are thankful for tonight and maybe when you find things to be thankful for, then your situation might not seem so bad.

 

Psalms 34:17-20 When the righteous cry for help, the Lord hears and delivers them out of all their troubles. The Lord is near to the brokenhearted and saves the crushed in spirit. Many are the afflictions of the righteous, but the Lord delivers him out of them all. He keeps all his bones; not one of them is broken.

Leave a Reply

