that crazy cancer girl

My journey through cervical cancer

Nurses are the Best!!

on August 5, 2014

NURSE

I was only 9 years old and I had asked Mom if I could have an orange. She said she had to run next door and get something, but when she came back she would cut me up a orange, but I was in no way to touch any knives while she was gone!! I sat and waited and waited… I’m not sure if you all visit with your neighbors for a long time when you see them, but Mom and this neighbor visited all. the. time!!

What was a 9 year old to do that wanted a snack, I decided to get it for myself instead of waiting. I got out the cutting board, grabbed an orange and Mom’s biggest knife I could find. I started cutting only to realize after the fact that I needed to get my finger out of the way. The burn from the orange juice started to seep into the rather large wound. I had cut almost to the bone. I dropped the knife and saw all the blood and started screaming. I grabbed the towel off the stove and ran down to the neighbors house.

When Mom saw me she said, “what in the world are you doing??” Our neighbor was a nurse and she quickly took me to the sink to see what the damage was. Through tears I was trying to explain to Mom that I was tired of waiting for her. She was torn between being angry with me and feeling sorry for me. Our neighbor was able to get the bleeding stopped enough to sit me up on her counter and get out her first aid kit.

She had some special glue that she put on my finger, bandaged it all up and made it all feel better. It was at that moment that I realized that I wanted to grow up to be a nurse.

When I was in high school our local hospital offered a program called Candy stripers. We could pick which department we wanted to work in and we could volunteer to help the nurses. I loved working with the newborn babies the best. I wasn’t a fan of rubbing Mother’s backs while they were screaming in labor, but to hold that newborn and sometimes get to feed them the first bottle or give them the first bath made it all worth it. Those were the best days, but we still had to change beds sheets and work to organize the stock closets.

I learned so much from that program and clocked in almost 500 hours of being a volunteer. Unfortunately when I got older, we didn’t have the funds to send me to nursing school and I had gotten in with the wrong crowd, so the dream of being a nurse died off.

Over the past almost year, I have come in contact with so many amazing nurses!! Whether male or female, they saves lives, they give you the best of care, I have had some cry with me, some hold me in the rough times, some come and laugh with me when I felt alone. Over and over the nurses have been the ones that have made this journey so much easier when I have to go to the hospital!

When I go to Beach General and have my what seems like a regular stay, I actually look forward to going. The nurses have made such an impact on my life on the oncology floor. I am simply humbled at what they do everyday. They have chosen to care for others with cancer and I can’t imagine how hard that is. I kind of feel bad when I stay there because as I walk the halls with my IV station because I can’t sit still in my bed, I see others in the beds that look like they are very close to death. I know these nurses see that and I know they see when others are healed. I can’t fathom the emotions that they deal with on a day to day basis.

However every time they come in my room, they are smiling, they are cheery and they treat me like gold. They make my stay so much easier. I have made friends with a few of them and my heart is fuller because of that. I know they are tired and some may even have kids at home, but they have chosen this life of helping others, regardless of what it takes.

When I have to go to the angio lab and have my tube changed out, the nurses all know me now and they talk with me like we have been friends for ages. We talk about our families and what we did on the weekends. Most people get knocked out or get sedative when they go in, but I have never had either because one I don’t like to feel loopy, but mainly because I love chatting with them while they are changing out my tube. They are so wonderful with me and I can’t thank them enough for making me comfortable in some of the most nervous times.

The same story is true for those at the VOA where my oncologist office is. Nurse are incredible people, who truly want to care for others. I am so blessed to have so many amazing nurses in my life that care for me! I don’t think I will ever be able to thank them enough for all they do to keep me happy, especially when the pain is so bad!

So to Ginger, Mark, Eric, Abby, Theresa, Charlene, Suzanne, Sissy, Nichole, Jennifer, Mary-Kay, Molly, Trish, Jody, Betty, Jan, Agnes, Nina, Chrissy and so many, many more… I think you are amazing!!! You are awesome, you are incredible and I pray that God blesses you abundantly over and over again for what you do day in and day out. I thank you for helping me through some of the toughest times of my life.

Do you have a special nurse in your life? Make sure you take time to thank them for all they do! It’s not just a job to them, they chose to help you!

Leave a Reply

