that crazy cancer girl

My journey through cervical cancer

How do you Spend your Sunday?

on August 10, 2014

3fd95ab9e8d1cba21cff836079ad09141

Today, I am not going to talk about cancer, Doctors, appointments or anything that pertains to cancer at all. I don’t ever claim to hear from God through a audible voice. However I feel Him in my spirit and I believe He has laid this on my heart to talk about. I am not judging, pointing fingers or any of the above. I have battled with God about writing this, but I feel as though if I don’t write about it, then I would be disobeying Him and I for one do not want to be in that category.

I am going to talk about church attendance today… Everyday I open up my laptop and my home page is MSN. I see the news headlines scroll across my screen and some of them bring tears to my eyes. Back in March, 33 Christians were executed in North Korea for going to church and loving God. Islamist extremist group Boko Haram and others killed 1,631 Christians in Nigeria for their faith in the first six months of 2014. Two Christians near Kenya’s coast were killed July 7 following attacks by suspected Islamic extremists over the weekend on two predominantly Christian villages that left more than 30 people dead. Those 2 men were leaving a bible study.

The five-year-old son of a founding member of Baghdad’s Anglican church was cut in half during an attack by the Islamic State on the Christian town of Qaraqosh. Officials say Fulani Muslim herders attacked three Christian villages and killed more than 100 civilians. Hundreds of thatched-roof huts were set ablaze. Islamic State terrorists have begun their promised killing of Christians in Mosul, and they have started with the children. According to a report via CNN, a Chaldean-American businessman has said that killings have started in Mosul and children’s heads are being erected on poles in a city park…

I read story after sad story of Christians being killed just because they want to go to church. I read about the underground churches in other countries that are so full that they are digging underground for more space. These people risk there lives everyday just to hear the word of God being preached! As I go to our church and I sit down only to see pew after empty pew all around me. What ever happened to a family waking up on a Sunday morning and putting on church clothes and worshipping together.

I have heard every excuse in the book, Sunday is my only day I have to sleep in, I couldn’t sleep last night so I decided to stay home. Oh it’s to beautiful of a day to go to church, I’m going to the beach or I’m going fishing. I just don’t have time for God… Excuse after excuse because we simply just want God to work around our schedule.

I was raised in the church. We were there every time the doors were open. From Sunday School to Youth group, choir practice, band practice, bible study, boys and girls group on Wednesday nights. We were at the church a lot! When I got of age I didn’t go as much as I should have because I was away from God. I went when Mom or Dad invited me, but like so many today, I just found every excuse not to go. When I got married and started having kids of our own, we rededicated our lives to God and wanted to raise our children in the church the way we were.

Church to us is not a routine, we don’t go because it’s what we have always done. We go because it is a privilege that so many across this world do not have. We go because we NEED to start our week being challenged by a good message. I have always been a music person, so my favorite part of the service is the music. We sing and we clap, we raise our hands and allow the music to minister to our souls. The lyrics of the praise songs are sometimes exactly what my soul needs to hear. Music is the universal language and if someone come to the church and gets nothing out of the message, the music may be exactly what ministers to them.

Some people come to church out of routine. They sit in the same pew every Sunday because it’s where there parents and grandparents sat. They don’t clap, they don’t sing, they simply come out of routine. They go home and continue living like they are not Christians. I’m not sure how many read the bible, but it says we will be singing, clapping and praising God non stop with a multitude of angels. If we sit in the pews and act like we don’t know how to make a sound, I can’t imagine how we will deal with the noise in Heaven. These are the same people the night before that are screaming and yelling during a sporting event with there favorite team. They give more of themselves to sports then they do for God.

God ask one day of us, one day to worship Him to hear a message, to be with other Christians, to uplift and encourage. One day…

What will happen when something tragic happens in your life and suddenly you are calling on God for help and He says, I have waited and waited for you to give me time and yet you only want me when you need something. What if He says, sorry I can’t help right now because it’s my only day off, it’s my day to go fishing or boating. Most churches last an hour to two hours. There are 168 hours in a week, you work, you go shopping, hang out with friends, sleep, go to bars, go to appointments and sporting events. God is asking two hours of your time.

As I was sitting in church today looking at all the empty pews, I prayed for those who just don’t get it. I prayed for those who are dying because they just want to go to church and hear about Him. I prayed for every person in our neighborhood who are steps away from the church, yet choose not to go.

There is a gentleman that comes to our church. He is 92 years old, still drives and walks with 2 canes. Once he is parked, it takes him approximately 10 minutes to get from the parking lot to his seat in the sanctuary. I look at him in awe because you can see he is in pain. He is a veteran and he loves his church. I think if he can get up every Sunday and put on his suit and tie and come to worship God, then we should have no excuses whatsoever. Regardless of cancer, chemo, hospital stays or anything else, my prayer is, God if you get me up on Sunday morning then I will go to church. Believe me, there are Sundays that I want to crawl in a hole and not go, but God gave me breath to get up, He gave me another day to praise Him in this storm, so I will!

We are so blessed in America to have the freedom to worship! We don’t have people holding guns to our heads because we want to hear more about God! Yet, we don’t allow ourselves the privilege to go. We leave the pews empty because God doesn’t come first in homes anymore. I’m not sure what you believe, but I know what comes in the end when I die. Heaven or Hell… I want to continue to praise God and keep Him number one in my life and I can’t wait to meet Him when I die. I can’t wait to see what He has in store for me! I can’t wait to go to church every Sunday as I am able. Won’t you join me?

 

“When the Lamb broke the fifth seal, I saw underneath the altar the souls of those who had been slain because of the word of God, and because of the testimony which they had maintained; and they cried out with a loud voice, saying, “How long, O Lord, holy and true, will You refrain from judging and avenging our blood on those who dwell on the earth?” And there was given to each of them a white robe; and they were told that they should rest for a little while longer, until the number of their fellow servants and their brethren who were to be killed even as they had been, would be completed also.” Revelation 6:9-11

One response to “How do you Spend your Sunday?

  1. C says:

    I get ur post about church attendance.
    This could get into discussion of other aspects RE church.
    But. I just want to let u know my family attends a church with 3 services that r packed every Sunday.
    Very thankful to b n a vibrant church worshipping the Lord & hearing His truth proclaimed.

Leave a Reply

