that crazy cancer girl

My journey through cervical cancer

God’s Angels are Among Us

on August 20, 2014

Angel-Of-Peace-angels-10952900-426-414

I have a treat for you all tonight! My Daddy has written another guest post and I am posting it tonight for him. I hope you read it and be blessed. He thoroughly enjoyed all the comments that you all posted on his other one he wrote, so if you don’t mind taking a moment when your done reading and post something for him then I know that will really make him happy!! Enjoy!!

 

Sarah and her family attend church there in Virginia Beach, so naturally when I was down there I went with them and I was so blessed in that service and met so many wonderful people. Several people there told me they read my last blog and I should write more, so I have decided to do just that. So for all of you who ask me to write, here it goes, this is also for you Sarah. 😉

Sickness, whether it be the flu or cancer, can be hard on anybody. When we have either one or the other illness, we want one thing, TO GET OVER IT!! For some, it may take medicine, for others, maybe a hot cup of tea and for the never ending ones, a healing. And that is what I want to share with you this time. What is a healing? How does it happen? Who get’s healed and who doesn’t? And the question goes on. Now if you are expecting me to give you the answer to these questions, forget about it. I can assure you, no one else has the answers either.

However, this I do know, healings are real. They do take place and they happen everyday and I have been the receiver of many healings. Please allow me to share one with you and if I get many positive comments on my guest blog post, then maybe I will write more on this subject. 😉

It was the night of the 2nd day after my 6th and 7th back operation at John’s Hopkins Hospital in Baltimore, MD. These 2 operations were 4 days apart and both were done to install metal in me. The finished product is that I now have more metal in me then some of you have in your cars. 😉 My spine is encased in titanium rods held in place with 18 three inch screws. My neck is held in place with plates and screws. A bar goes through my pelvic bone horizontally and it holds my metal spine in place with a swivel hinge and that is how I turn.

They also removed 14 disc and 3 vertebra. I can assure you that it wasn’t any fun at all! How did I get myself into this mess? I fell off a crane 19 feet in the air and landed across a steel bar backwards…

Now here is the miracle. It was sometime in the morning hours when I felt I had to sit up after the surgery. When I grabbed the monkey bar to pull myself up, I used my left hand to push myself up. When I reached back with my left hand, my whole bed was soaked, but I paid no mind to it as I sweat all the time. All I know was, my back was killing me as the pain was almost more then I could bare. I heard a faint noise and I recognized it as a helicopter.

As it got closer to the rooftop helipad, the helipad lights came on. It was then, when my room lit up that I noticed that it was not sweat on my bed, but blood. I have always been a person who hardly ever gets excited over things, so I sat there and realized that since no one else was in the room, that it was probably my blood. But why was it all over the bed, the walls, the floor and me? I pushed that old faithful button and heard, “Yes, what can I do for you”? I told her that when I came into this room, it was pastel blue, but now it is red.

My goodness, I hardly finished talking and here they came, it was like a herd of buffalo coming in the room. This doctor started screaming orders and everyone was running and jumping to his commands. It was then that I started to feel weak due to the loss of most of my blood. The doctor, bless his heart, now had everything under control and he started to sew me up. IN BED… WITHOUT ANYTHING FOR PAIN! Yep, he sure did.

The cleaning crew started cleaning the room, starting with me. The doctor chased everyone out of the room and then explained what happened. He told me that a huge blood clot had formed and it had exploded, ripping my incision open and since I was on my side, when it exploded it went all over the room. He went on to tell me that I will never walk again and then left the room.

The cleaning crew came back in and then I started to cry uncontrollably. It was 4 am right on the nose when a black nurse came in and said, “Mr. Tom, may name is Sheila and the Lord sent me here to take care of you. For three solid days, Sheila never left my side. She bathed me, fed me, clothed me and we sang gospel songs together, plus we spent a great deal of time in prayer. She kept me alert for those 3 days, she helped me through those hard and painful days. When she was there, I barely felt any pain.

Then she had to leave, but said she would return. After 3 days, I asked the nurse is Shiela was coming in that evening. She ask me, “Shiela who?” When I told her about Shiela, the nurse told me that they do not have a nurse on the floor named Shiela. neither were there any black nurses who worked on the 8th floor.

I then asked for the head nurse and when I explained everything, she told me the same thing, no Sheila… There was indeed no record of any nurse named Sheila. My wife knew I would never lie about something like this, so she just shrugged her shoulders. My best friend thought I overdosed on my meds.

Well the day of my discharge had finally arrived and I was excited to get home. A young nurse came in pushing a small wheelchair and I simply told her that for me to get in that would be like Moby Dick getting in a sardine can! 😉 She said she would go and get a larger one. About 15 minutes later, in came a larger one and guess who was pushing it? You guessed right, it was Sheila! I then introduced her to my wife and my best friend. When she reached out to help me in the wheelchair, I stood up without a pain and walked from my bed to that wheelchair!! It was then that I realized that every time Sheila was around I had no pain.

When everyone got me in the car, Sheila leaned over me to buckle my seat belt and she kissed me on the cheek. It was like nothing I ever experienced. I almost felt an anointing on it!

When I got home, I was in bed for months and Dru my dear wife came in and suggested that we send flowers to Sheila to thank her for all she did. It was then that we were told that there were no black nurses on the 8th floor and there never was. I was also told there is only one Sheila in the entire hospital and she is a little white lady who works in the laundry and is soon to retire…

So the question is, who is Sheila? What was Sheila? Where did she come from? I will tell you, the scriptures have a lot to say about angels and there is no doubt in my mind that Sheila was an angel. Do you believe in miracles? I sure do! When I first surrendered my heart to the Lord, the very first verse of scripture I logged into my memory bank was, Hebrews 13:5 I will never leave you, nor forsake you.

All my life, my Jesus has kept that promise, even to the point of giving me a miracle and an angel.

For he will command his angels concerning you to guard you
in all your ways”
Psalm 91:11

11 responses to “God’s Angels are Among Us

  1. Vicky Brothers says:

    Wow! What an inspiring post! I have goosebumps from head to toe…and who is slicing onions again causing these tears? 🙂

  2. Jessica Walker says:

    Absolutely amazing! I am glad that the Lord sent Sheila to you. Thanks for sharing.

  3. Lisa says:

    I too believe in “Sheilas” Mr. Misiewicz! So looking forward to another post from you and on any topic! You and your beautiful daughter, Sarah, have truly blessed my heart. I also once had an angel hear on earth with me and a dear friend of yours, Phyllis, who departed for her heavenly home one year ago this past Monday. She always talked fondly of you and your wife, Dru. Phyllis was married to my father-in-law, Curt. I miss her but do know that I will see her again. Thank you for your inspirational words and for being a solid rock in your faith and walk with Jesus. Blessings!

  4. Cheryl says:

    Thank you for writing and sharing your life with the rest of us. Thank you, also, for being such a strong Godly example for the world. Many blessings to you!

  5. Barbara & Terry Vickers says:

    This is so beautiful…..I too believe in angels and they are all around us. Thank you for sharing this story with us and most of all for being Sara’s father. She has been truly blessed to have you by her side all these years. Barbara & Terry Vickers

  6. VaPat says:

    I have my faith in God, & I believe in angels ~ I only pray that one will come to my house for both my husband & myself. we could both both use an angels blessing about now.

    I loved your post & hope to read more from you in the future. my best to you, your family, & Sarah as always.

  7. Joellei says:

    That was a great post.

  8. Ada says:

    Absolutely beautiful. In this world of chaos, destruction, and a lack of faith, we should all read more about angels. Please continue to share. It is uplifting and inspirational. Thank you for sharing – both of you. God blessed me so many years ago when we met – even if for a short time.

  9. Nina says:

    I not only believe in Angels…I believe in Miracles……love my Sarah ❤

  10. Anonymous says:

    Sarah, please tell your Dad that I loved his post just I as have loved all of yours. I pray for you and your family daily and I share your post with my Sunday School class, co-workers and family. Basically anyone who needs encouraged because God is truly being lifted up through your post. Thank you Tom and Sarah. Blessing in Christ, Robin Keller

  11. Sharon says:

    Brother Tom-I remember you telling me about your angel, Sheila! I am so blessed to have you as my friend. I love you and your family. My dear friend Duty is still in my heart and remains in my thoughts. Both of you have been such a blessing to me. Keep sharing and testifying to all that God has done and will continue to do. Praise God He still performs miracles!

Leave a Reply

