that crazy cancer girl

My journey through cervical cancer

What do you Value?

on August 21, 2014

faith__20family_20friends

Have you ever sat back and watched those in front of you. I’m not talking about at the market or in church or even people watching at the mall. I’m talking about friends and family. Lately I have been watching and listening. Today my brother and sisters drove down from WV to surprise me for the day because my birthday is tomorrow. We have not spent time together without spouses or kids around since we were kids ourselves. Just the 4 of us went to a local favorite and as we sat outside eating, I just sat back and watched. I listened to the stories and watched those beautiful faces and I enjoyed so much being with them today.

When I am in a room of friends, I love to sit back and watch. The animation and the way they laugh, I can’t get enough of! Growing up we would all pile around the dinner table every night and we all talked and laughed. Since there were so many of us, it seemed the louder you were the more you were heard. 😉 I have always been involved in the conversation and right in the middle of things. However lately, it seems like I just want to soak up my time with friends and family. I want to hear all the stories, I want to see the expressions and just enjoy every moment I can with all of them!

Maybe it’s the cancer or maybe it’s due to getting older, but I value my time with others so much more now. I took so much for granted when spending time with family. Giving a quick hug and kiss goodbye and saying, see you later! Now I hold on just a little bit longer and embrace our time a whole lot more. With my birthday being tomorrow, I honestly have that thought of, what if this is my last birthday, what if this and what if that. There is so much that we take for granted everyday! Regardless of sickness, we could get in our vehicle tomorrow and be in a wreck and die that way, we could have a sudden heart attack and go that way. We are never promised a tomorrow.

I think God is the same way with us, He wants to watch us, He wants to see what we talk about and how we enjoy our time. He made us, so why wouldn’t He be interested in every aspect of what we do. He wants us to enjoy being with others. He didn’t make us to be alone and I know that He would want us to appreciate every moment that we are given.

Until that day that God calls me to my Heavenly home, I am going to not just sit back and watch, but I am going to love more, laugh more and live a whole lot more. I am going to take extra time with those I love! I am going to enjoy every birthday I am given and smile every chance I get.

How do you live your life? Do you allow so much of the outside world to take away your happiness? When was the last time you just watched those you love enough to truly appreciate who they are. Life goes by so quickly, when you get to the end you might have great accomplishments, but how much have you missed with your spouse, your kids, your family and friends? Love your relationships and don’t take them for granted. Don’t take life for granted. It can all be taken away before you even know it.

1 Peter 4:8 Above all, love each other deeply, because love covers over a multitude of sins

 

 

2 responses to “What do you Value?

  1. Debbie says:

    Thanks so much for sharing! Once again you have made me stop, think, and pray about how I spend my moments. Happy Birthday wishes to you on your special day! Blessings!

  2. Bev says:

    Soak it in baby!!

Leave a Reply

