that crazy cancer girl

My journey through cervical cancer

Hurt People, Hurt People

on August 30, 2014

hurt-people

Fine then!!! I don’t want to talk to you either!! I slammed the door and ran up to our bedroom. Oh boy… when did I get so moody and so uptight over the littlest things? I laid across our bed and tried to think about what exactly it was that we were arguing over.  Why were we arguing? How did that one little thing turn into something blown way out of proportion?

When I was a teenager, our church kiosk was still one that you had to put the letters on instead of these fancy computerized ones now. The youth would take turns going out and putting up the letters for the week. When it was my turn, I was handed the sheet that simply said, Hurt People, Hurt People… Was this some kind of joke? Where was the rest of it? I walked back inside and said I don’t understand this, how is anyone else going to understand? The secretary simply said, that was it and to go put it up.

As I was putting it up, I wracked my brain and wondered what could this overly simple quote mean? It took me weeks before I realized that it meant that people who are hurting lash out and hurt others…

Ouch… That’s what I have been doing and I am not proud about it at all!! I have in fact been physically hurting to the point where I get angry because I want it to go away. I am missing out on life! I am missing out on fun things and places to go, simply because I am hurting so badly. If someone says something that strikes me wrong, I fly off the deep end without even thinking about it… Hurt People, Hurt People.

When we go through times of trial and times of heartache, shouldn’t we be uplifting each other? Shouldn’t we be leaning on each other and encouraging each other? Why is it so easy to lash out when we are hurting? That’s exactly what Satan wants… He wants us to be ugly towards each other and to tear each other down when we need encouragement the most.

As I slowly got off the bed and made my way towards Darin, I apologized and ask for forgiveness. Darin understands what I am going through, he has been walking this walk with me for almost a year. He knows when I am hurting and when I feel good. We share all these emotions together. He wraps his arms around me and I whisper, I’m sorry once again for my quick reaction to hurt before I think. He tells me that he forgives me and we pray together for healing.

Do you hurt when you should be helping? Do you allow your words to lash out at others when they don’t deserve it? Next time you start to lash out, why don’t you take a moment and think about your words before they leave your mouth. Our words have the ability to truly hurt someone. Do you want to be responsible for hurting someone else? The Bible tells us not to hurt others, even when they have hurt us first. In Romans 12:17, the Bible tells us, “Do not repay anyone evil for evil.” Instead, “Bless those who persecute you; bless and do not curse” (Romans 12:14). The Bible goes on to say, “Do not take revenge, my friends, but leave room for God’s wrath” (Romans 12:19). God is the one who will repay those who hurt you.

Take time out today to make someone’s day by giving them a compliment or telling someone you love them out of the blue. You may be hurting from physical or mental pain, but don’t let that pave the way for your day. Encourage and uplift!

Romans 8:18  For I consider that the sufferings of this present time are not worth comparing with the glory that is to be revealed to us.

 

Leave a Reply

