that crazy cancer girl

My journey through cervical cancer

Sisterly Love

on September 6, 2014

263111_1914861947332_33518_n

We shared a big white bed of our grandma’s every night till we were about 10. That’s when we came back from youth camp and our parents had gotten us new carpet, 2 separate twin beds, new comforters and pink frilly mauve colored curtains with tie backs. I thought we had hit the lottery!! I remember those first few nights I didn’t know what to think. We had shared a bed for so long that even though it was only a twin bed, it felt like I was a million miles from my sister Becky!

I could share a multitude of memories on here about her because we are only 2 years apart and spent most of our childhood a lot closer then the others. She was the one I looked up to, she was the one I wanted to be like. As we got older, I would be so nervous for her if she snuck out the window at night to go meet her friends. I would always worry that she would be in an accident or something. In high school she was the popular one while I hung more with the tree huggers who wore Doc Martins. She made fun of me relentlessly, but I was always proud to say that I had  sister in the popular group.

Life eventually drug us apart and she went one way and I went the other. However we were never without phones, emails, text and so much more. The other day she called me and said, “I’m calling to just check in on you and see how you are doing”. That my friends is something that is new to our family. Now don’t get me wrong, we love each other like crazy, but we don’t usually just check in with each other and tell each other we love each other. It wasn’t until I got sick that we realized how short life truly is and that we needed to tell each other now rather than wait until it’s too late.

Becky means the world to me and she is still in with the popular girls and I am proud of her for that, because they aren’t know as the mean girls anymore. Her group of girls love me and pray for me just as much as anyone else.

Tomorrow is Becky’s birthday and as much as I wish I could be there, I wanted her to know how much I love and appreciate her! Becky, I still look up to you and I am so proud  of the wife, mother and friend that you have become. Thank you for still loving your crazy, little sister and thank you for your prayers. Check your mail Monday and you will have something special waiting for you!! 😉 I love you!!!

Do you appreciate your siblings? If you do, do you tell them? Why wait until something happens and they are not around before you say, “Oh I wish I would have told them I loved them more, I wish I would have told them I appreciated them more”. Never wait on things that matter! Take that first step to tell them first. If it’s a strained relationship them it’s even better that you make that first step. I pray you all have a blessed day and if you would like to, then leave a little birthday message on here for my sweet sister Becky!

2 responses to “Sisterly Love

  1. dpu904 says:

    Don’t be late to your own birthday party Becky. Happy birthday!

  2. Anonymous says:

    Happy Birthday to a beautiful friend…our times together (probably when you were sneaking out of the house) were awesome memories! Love you girl!

Leave a Reply

