that crazy cancer girl

My journey through cervical cancer

What do you Pray for?

on September 19, 2014

pray

I know I have mentioned this before, but my sweet Mama was a prayer warrior. I don’t think she ever stopped praying! Every time she heard a siren she would stop what she was doing and pray for the first responders to be safe and for whoever they were going for to feel peace and for no one to leave this earth without knowing God. We would all say amen and continue on with whatever we were doing. Growing up at the time in a smaller town we didn’t hear many sirens.

I remember though the first time Mom and Dad came to visit us here at the beach and she heard a siren and stopped what she was doing and prayed. About 5 minutes later she heard another and prayed again. This happened time after time throughout the day and that evening we were sitting on the deck and she heard another one. Her face looked kind of tired and she said, Dear Lord, forgive me for this, but will you please help and bless everyone who is in need of first responders while we are here, for I surely can’t keep up with the excitement here in this city!

Oh we laughed and teased her for a bit and she felt so bad like she was disobeying God for not praying for each one of them. It’s funny how we pick up things from our parents. Even when I was an EMT I would pray in my head for the person that was in the back of the ambulance. I still pray every time I here a siren.

The bible says “To pray without ceasing”. I certainly feel that I am doing a lot of that lately. As soon as I wake up I am praying for the day and for my family, I am continuing to pray for my healing and for God to help so many others. Today was one of those days where I know I needed to pray, but I couldn’t find the words. Two days after chemo, severe anxiety kicks in and I am so out of sorts that I can barely function. The pain on top of that today left me with a whole lot to say, but no words would come.

There is a beautiful praise and worship song out that can put exactly what I felt today in a 3 minute song. The words say…

I bow my head to pray, I don’t know what to say
I’m not sure how to fix the things I’m dealing with
I’m in a desperate place, I need to share the weight
But I just don’t know how, to let it all pour out
Though I’m silent, my heart is crying
Cause I was made to come to You

So I pray
God I need You more than words can say
Right here in this moment
You know my heart, You know my need
You know every part of me
So even if it’s just to speak Your name
I’m gonna pray

I failed to find the time, but You’ve been calling out
I let the days go by as if I could live without
But it’s gotta be here now, I won’t be pulled away
Cause it’s just You and I, so let the world around us fade

As I pray
God I need You more than words can say
Right here in this moment
You know my heart, You know my need
You know every part of me
So even if it’s just to speak Your name
I’m gonna pray
I’m gonna pray

(Father)
Will You meet me here right now?
(Father)
I surrender, lay it down
(Father)
And every time I close my eyes
I know that I was made
To lift my hands and pray
I lift my hands and pray

You know my heart, You know my need
And every single part of me
So even if it’s just to speak Your name

I’m gonna pray
I’m gonna pray

You know my heart, You know my need
You know every part of me
I bring willing words and one heart [?]
Take it as an offering

God knows our thoughts before they even run through our lips. He is waiting for us to come to Him and speak to Him. Not just when we need something from Him either. He wants to hear about our day and what we are thankful for. He wants us to let Him know that we love Him and appreciate all that He does for us through the good AND the bad.

What does prayer mean to you? Do you only use it when you need something from God? Do you thank Him for your family or that unexpected bonus? How about for the person driving slow in front of you that you found out later prevented you from getting into an accident had you not been behind him? So many things that God wants us to talk to Him about. How about taking time tonight before you go to bed and listen to this song and take a moment to thank God for everything He has done in your life.

1 Thessalonians 5:17 Pray continually

 

 

3 responses to “What do you Pray for?

  1. Debbie Friend says:

    Thanks, Sarah! Praying at this moment even though I don’t know what to pray for I know God knows my needs! Just need to talk to him!

  2. Sharon says:

    Our Heavenly Father understands when on one else does. He hears each spoken and unspoken prayer. I’m still praying. Love You and your family!

  3. Sandra Hess Greenfield says:

    Sarah we so enjoyed our visit last Sunday, the best part of our vacation. I continue to pray for you and your family that the Lord touches you in a special way. Love You!!

Leave a Reply

